Special Collections Research Center

Scope and Contents Series 1 (Acc. 1999.059) contains correspondence regarding the School of Jurisprudence (now the Marshall-Wythe School of Law), the Faculty Club, the Quarterly Millennium Celebration, and notes on the teaching of law at William and Mary for the years 1931-1943. Series 2 (Acc. 2008.308) contains material acquired by Dr. Theodore Sullivan Cox in Germany during the Allied occupation after World War II. Includes British, US American and French military bulletins, manuals and pamphlets...

Scope and Contents

Notes, 1848-1849, taken by Charles E. S. Haas, Woodstock, Shenandoah County, Virginiaa. from Blackstone's Commentaries and other works. The volume includes loose papers.

Scope and Contents

Notes, circaa. 1830-1840, taken by David Hunter (perhaps in England) and concerning law.

Scope and Contents

Notes, circaa. 1840-1850, concerning law made by [John Kennedy, a British student ?]  On page 598, law regarding negroes and slaves.

Scope and Contents

Notes, circa 1840-1860, by L. J. Bell, of Accomack County, Virginiaa. concerning law. The volume includes loose papers.

Scope and Contents

Notebook of law notes by an unknown author.  First page notes, "Bacons Abridgement."  The inside back cover has an index to an unknown item which notes court information for Augusta, Rockingham and Rockbridge Counties, Virginia.

Scope and Contents

The papers of William & Mary Law School Professor Emeritus John M. Levy include speeches given at various events by Dr. Levy, newsclippings either written by Levy or pertaining to Levy, as well as coursework and research during his tenure at the Law School.

Scope and Contents

Letter, 15 Oct. 1839, James Lyons, Richmond, Va. to Judge [Nathaniel Beverley] Tucker, Williamsburg, Va. Letter of introduction for Joseph M. Carrington who plans to attend Tucker's law lectures [at the College of William & Mary]. Carrington has already studied Blackstone, Coke, etc.

Scope and Contents

This collection contains briefs prepared by law students for use in moot court proceedings.

Scope and Contents

Notes, 1871-1878, taken by Thomas Fendal West and Marcellus E. Kleberg, students at Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginiaa.] concerning law.

Scope and Contents

"Notes on medical jurisprudence," by Thomas H. Tutwiler, 1840; and "Notes on the study of law, Blackstone, Vol. I." by Tutwiler, 1841. The volume includes a record, February 16, 1845, of the birth of Thomas Peyton Tutwiler, son of Thomas H. and Harriet M. Tutwiler.

Scope and Contents

Memorandum of understanding regarding a proposal for William & Mary School of Law to conduct a summer program for law students at the Faculty of Law of the University of Malaya, beginning in 1998. Included are the signatures of representatives of both institutions.