Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 14 of 14

Alice Combs Scrapbook

 Collection — Oversize_Box: 1, Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.225
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1946-1948 kept by Alice Comb of Baltimore, Maryland, started at the occasion of her marriage to William Combs, Jr. in 1946.

Included are wedding greeting cards and hand written congratulation tags, and telegrams relating to the wedding and the couple's honeymoon New York City. Also included are postcards, programs, anniversary and birthday cards.

Dates: 1946-1948
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Earl Gregg Swem Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 79 Sw4
Scope and Contents Papers, 1927-1965, of Earl Gregg Swem, librarian and historian. Includes correspondence, reports, poems, and newspaper clippings. Subjects covered by the collection include Virginia history, bibliography, American Library Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa, Virginia Colonial Records Project, Virginia Historical Society, Jamestown Festival, Hampton Celebration, and the Virginia Historical...
Dates: 1927-1965
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates: 1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mozelle DeVonne McNeil Papers, circa 1940-1960

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.594
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1940s-1960s, of Mozelle DeVonne McNeil, includes correspondence, photographs, diaries, educational records, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera. These papers represent a view of everyday life in mid-twentieth century America from the perspective of a soldier's wife.

Dates: circa 1940-1960
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Nicholson School (Williamsburg, Va.) Christmas Souvenir

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00970
Scope and Contents

Christmas souvenir from the class of Virginia W. Jones of the Nicholson School, Williamsburg, Va.  The souvenir is a printed card tied with a red ribbon and a border of holly.  Includes names of Board, H.D. Cole, A. Brooks, R.L. Spencer; H.N. Phillips, Superintendant. Inside the card are the printed names of the pupils in the sixth and seventh grades.

Dates: 1903
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maude M. Presslor Papers, 1913-1972

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.593
Scope and Contents This collection contains the diaries, correspondence, and biographic material of Maude M. (Mathas) Presslor (1898-1972) of Montezuma, Indiana from 1913-1970. Earlier papers and material relate to Presslor's life as a teenager and young adult during the World War I period. Letters from friends serving in France and a baby book detailing the early years of her three children, Betty Jean (Presslor) Montgomery, Frank Richard Presslor, and David Lowell Presslor, date from this period. Later...
Dates: 1913-1972; Majority of material found in 1943-1972
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Pulaski Citizens Club. Young Men's Division Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00740
Scope and Contents

Minute book for the Young Men's Division of the Pulaski Citizens Club (location unknown), an organization for Polish Americans. The club organized social events like dances and bingo and there is mentioning the intention to set up athletic and educational events as well.

Also included are a letter, two photographs and a greeting card.

For a more detailed description and excerpts, provided by the seller, see folder link below.

Dates: 1936-1939
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss 1.05
Scope and Contents The racial and ethnic ephemera collection contains various materials regarding race, ethnicity, and racism in the United States. The collection includes papers and items that promote racial prejudice and propaganda. The collection also contains items and papers that exemplify the fight for civil and equal rights. African Americans are the most broadly represented group in the collection. Other ethnic groups include Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, Muslim Americans, and...
Dates: 1778-2005
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Scrapbook (Holy Cross, Alaska), 1916-1922

 Collection — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.104
Scope and Contents Scrapbook and loose items, circa 1916-1922 featuring predominantly the mission and convent of the Holy Cross in Alaska. Only some photographs are identified. Place names mentioned are Holy Cross and Tanana; and St. Anne's Convent in Holy Cross. Among the people identified are Mr. and Mrs. Vashon, Mr. and Mrs. A. Keogh, Mr. and Mrs. Woo.Also included are clippings regarding the robbery of a Chinese grocery in Seattle and clippings documenting missionary work in Hong Kong and...
Dates: 1916-1922
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Wesley B. Tanner Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01219
Scope and Contents

Collection concerning Wesley B. Tanner of Ann Arbor, Michigan which includes a signed greeting card designed with a wood block illustration, two copies of a bibliography of his products through 1990 as well as an article about him. Also includes a 2006 Christmas Card printed by Wesley B. Tanner.

Dates: 1990-2002, 2006
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Eva L. Webb Diaries and Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.093
Scope and Contents

Diaries and scrapbooks, 1934-1997, of Eva L. Webb (1911-2007) of Corry, Pennsylvania. Diary entries vary in length and regularity and some years are skipped altogether. There are two scrapbooks consisting mainly of greeting cards and a few clippings, one for her wedding in May 1940 and the other for her hospitalization for appendicitis in 1941.

Dates: 1934-1997; Majority of material found within 1934-1941, 1961-1971
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mary L. Willis Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc23
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1866-1878, of Mary L. Willis [Richmond, Virginiaa. ?] which contains newspaper clippings; cards; and colored cut-outs of flowers, birds, fruit, animals, angels, and cupids.

Dates: 1866-1878
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Greeting cards X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Clippings (information artifacts) 6
Photographs 6
Postcards 5
Scrapbooks 5
Correspondence 4
∨ more
Letters (correspondence) 4
Christmas cards 3
Diaries 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Women--Diaries 3
Birthday cards 2
Calendars 2
Card games (game sets) 2
Financial records 2
Indians of North America 2
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 2
Plays (document genre) 2
Printed ephemera 2
Report cards 2
Reports 2
Speeches 2
Theater 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Drama 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Restoration 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
Yearbooks 2
Advertising cards 1
African Americans 1
African Americans in popular culture 1
African Americans in the performing arts 1
African Americans--Biography 1
African Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia 1
African Americans--History 1
African Americans--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Announcements 1
Antisemitism 1
Artists--United States 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Blaxploitation films -- United States 1
Board games (activities) 1
Board games (game sets) 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chinese Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
Chinese Americans--Legal status, laws, etc.--History 1
Christmas--United States 1
Collecting cards 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College theater--United States 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Comic strips 1
Communism--United States 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cuban Americans--Public opinion. 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--20th century 1
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Historic buildings--Conservation and restoration--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Holy Cross (Alaska) 1
Honeymoons -- United States -- History -- 20th century 1
Indiana--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Invitations 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Korean War, 1950-1953 1
Kwanzaa 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Legal documents 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Marriage certificates 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Menus 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
German 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 2
American Library Association 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∨ more
Carrington family 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Combs, Alice 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Garland family 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Mathews, Mary 1
McNeil, Mozelle DeVonne, 1934- 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Presslor, Maude M., 1898-1972 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States. Army. Signal Corps 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Webb, Eva L., 1911-2007 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Holding Corporation 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woo Family 1
Young Men's Division 1
+ ∧ less