Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8
Collection
Identifier: SC 00395
Scope and Contents
A report sponsored by the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities, "Black Education in Williamsburg-James City County, 1619-1984" by Philip D. Morgan, 1985. 1 item. 76 pp.
Dates:
compiled in 1985
Collection
Identifier: MS 00341
Content Description
This collection is formed of materials created by the First Baptist Church of Williamsburg, dating from the mid-1800s to the present day. Inculded in this collection are church records such as member rolls, meeting minutes, photographs, bibles, building blueprints, and audio visual materials.
Dates:
1866 - 2017
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 J23
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of 69 Property Tax Books and 3 Land Tax Books for James City County, Virginia, 1866-1948, and 42 Property Tax Books and 2 Land Tax Books for Williamsburg, Virginia, 1865-1927. Most years contain two sections within one book: one section for "White" property owners and one section for "Colored" property owners. Many of the James City County records have separate books or are divided into Powhatan, Jamestown and Stone House districts. For the years...
Dates:
1865-1949
Collection
Identifier: MS 00187
Scope and Contents
Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' business with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum. There is also records of Jones' dealing with African American customers. Also includes the settlement of the estate,...
Dates:
1857-1901
Collection
Identifier: MS 00026
Scope and Contents
This collection contains one srapbook of newspaper clippings, compiled by Josephine Parsons Lee, concerning African American employees at Colonial Williamsburg from the 1960s to the 1980s . Included in the scrapbook are lists of African American employees, photographs of the various interpreters at Colonial Williamsburg, and social events sponsored by Colonial Williamsburg including team softball.
Dates:
circa 1957-1986
Collection
Identifier: SC 01457
Scope and Contents
Photostatic copy of "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher", an account by a missionary school teacher, Margaret Newbold Thorpe, who taught black students at Fort Magruder and in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1866-1867. Photostatic copy of "Life in North Carolina," September 1869-1870, an account written by Margaret Newbold Thorpe Stokes about Warrenton, North Carolina. The accounts were apparently written in 1881 and 1907.The photostatic copies were likely made in 1951, when gifted...
Dates:
1951
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.286
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of seven letters written by William & Mary alumnus, Samuel Stuart Griffin of Williamsburg, to his son, James Lewis Corbin Griffin. In the first letter, dated May 7, 1834, Griffin acknowledges his son's recent change of plans, wherein his son now has a teaching position and is living in a public house. Griffin expresses concern over the kinds of individuals his son is likely to meet at the public house and how they may be negative influences on him....
Dates:
1834-1835, 1857-1860
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.211
Scope and Contents
3 volumes of the Voter Registrar's office of the City of Williamsburg, Virginia, consisting of a "List of White Voters, 1896, 1904-1946," "Colored Registered Voters, 1902, 1904-1946, 1930-1953, 1964," and "White Registered Voters, 1904-1964, 1905-1953."
Dates:
1896-1964
