Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 326 - 341 of 341

John B. Wiley Recipe Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV R3
Scope and Contents

Recipe book, circa 1825-1835, of Dr. John B. Wiley, Gerrardstown, West Virginia. The volume includes home remedies, a recipe for cold cream and a household inventory, 1829.

Dates: circa 1825-1835
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Will Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.113a
Scope and Contents Letters and papers of Cornelia F. Will and husband, Philip Will, of Toms Brook, Virginia. Toms Brook is a part of Shenandoah County. Correspondence takes place between 1857-1902. Family members settled throughout West Virginia, Ohio, Wyoming, and California. Prominent correspondents are from children, Edward A. Will, W. B. Will (“Bill”), Sam Will, Joseph Will, and Emma E. Will. There are also letters from her daughter-in-laws, Effa and Maggie. Locations of her...
Dates: 1857-1902
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Fairbairn Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap13
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1823, of William Fairbairn which includes a record of marches made with a [military troops] from Augusta County, Va. The volume also includes carpenter's accounts (recording coffins constructed) and farmers' and laborers' accounts.

Dates: 1823
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William J. Pendleton Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am11 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1857-1872, of William J. Pendleton, physician, at Cuckoo, Louisa County, Va. Also includes accounts of a merchant, farms and labor accounts, and memoranda of a school operated by the Pendleton family.

Dates: 1857-1872
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William M. Foster & Co.

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame37-39
Scope and Contents

Two journals and a ledger, 1884-1889, of William M. Foster & Co., merchants, of Columbia, Fluvanna County, Va.

Dates: 1884-1889
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Meade Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 74 M46
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1807-1861, of the Right Reverend William Meade who was a minister of the Protestant Episcopal Church and third Bishop of the Church in Virginia. The early correspondence pertains to his studies at Princeton and his decision to enter the ministry. Subsequent correspondence deals with religious controversy, particularly after his election as Assistant Bishop of Virginia in 1829. The discipline of clergy and laity and disagreement over doctrinal issues form an important part of...
Dates: 1807-1861
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Waller Letter to Mr. Tazewell

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00591
Scope and Contents

Letter from William Waller, Williamsburg, [Virginia] to "Dear Sir" [Mr. Tazewell] about Tazewell's payment of a debt to Dr. Waller (father of William Waller) and on the Whigs who "have beaten us in the county election." He saw (Gaw Matt?) and "all were well with him on the river...depredation of moles, grasshoppers." April 29, 1848.

Dates: 1848 April 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg, Virginia Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00397
Scope and Contents Photocopies of three letters written from Williamsburg, Virginia by W.W. Vest, J.M. Chevers and Unknown. W.W. Vest of Williamsburg, Virginia to John M. Speer (or Speed) of Lynchburg, Virginia about hiring out of negroes and financial matters. 1843. Unknown in Williamsburg, Virginia to Robert Saunders in Fauquier, Virginia about family and a scandal at "The Springs." 1844. J. M. Chevers, a student in Williamsburg, Virginia, to Rev. CW. Thomson in Richmond,...
Dates: 1843-1846
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Dr. George Williamson Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00632
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a physician's daybook kept by Dr. George Williamson of New Market, Virginia, whose practice extended throughout the Shenandoah Valley. Spanning 1807-1819, the daybook records names of patients, treatments, and payments (for both Caucasians and African Americans). Treatments range from inoculations and venereal disease to all night vigils.

Dates: 1807-1819
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George Wilson Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D17
Scope and Contents

Diary and plantation accounts, 1853-1855, of Dr. George Wilson, "Mount Pleasant," Surry County, Virginia. which includes genealogical information concerning his children. Transcript included. On July 19, 1853, he mentions the death of "Old Betty" with remarks on her age (maybe 92) and her good character, probably inherited by his wife through Joseph Boykin.

Dates: 1853-1855
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Wirt Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00596
Scope and Contents Letter from William Wirt, Williamsburg, [Virginia] to John Patterson, Clerk of Court, Mathews County, [Virginia], asking for the record in the case of William Armistead and Company vs Mildred Dixon, executix of Thomas Dixon, lest the appeals case be dismissed. April 12, 1806. Letter from William Wirt, Washington,, [D.C.] to Littleton Waller Tazewell, 26 September 1823, about the advantages of Washington [D.C.], New York City is "almost the only prosperous point in the Union," his...
Dates: 1806 April 12, 1823 September 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Woolfolk Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W88
Scope and Contents Papers of the Woolfolk family of Caroline County, Virginia including correspondence and accounts of John George Woolfolk, Jourdan Woolfolk, Pichegru Woolfolk and John William Woolfolk. The collection includes correspondence, accounts and vouchers for the stage line run by the Woolfolk family (Allen &  Woolfolk; Jourdan Woolfolk & Company; and Woolfolk &  Hoomes). Includes records of routes, rates, supplies, arrangements for layover of passengers and mail contracts of the Potomac...
Dates: 1775-1893
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...
Dates: 1752-1938
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas G. Wynne Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00041
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, sermons, financial records and other material pertaining to Thomas G. Wynne of James City County Virginia. Wynne graduated from William & Mary as the valedictorian in 1854, and a copy of his valedictory speech is included in the collection along with his diploma. After graduation, Wynne taught in the James City County schools, and a sample report card from the 1880s can be found in the collection. Also included in the collection is Wynne's William &...
Dates: circa 1853-1891
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Yeaman and Walker Family Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.542
Scope and Contents The Yeaman and Walker Family Collection consists mainly of correspondence and financial records of the Yeaman and Walker families, mostly relating to tobacco farming in Virginia between 1840 and 1910.  The predominant locations are Pittsylvania County, Botetourt County, Charlotte County, Lynchburg, and Danville. Letters demonstrate economic stress after the Civil War, particularly as it relates to crop and livestock prices. Other topics discussed include sickness and deaths of children and...
Dates: 1836-1937; Majority of material found in 1850-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 155
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Correspondence 92
Financial records 66
Ledgers (Accounting) 56
∨ more
Legal documents 42
Journals (accounts) 41
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Receipts (financial records) 33
Diaries 29
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 28
Photographs 22
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 21
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 20
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 19
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 19
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 18
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Virginia--History--19th century 16
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Invoices 14
Letters (correspondence) 14
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 14
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 13
University of Virginia--History--19th century 13
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Daybooks 12
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 12
Scrapbooks 12
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
United States--History--War of 1812 11
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 11
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 9
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 9
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 8
Genealogy 8
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 8
Notebooks 8
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 7
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Merchants--Virginia--Richmond 7
Poems 7
Publications 7
Slavery--Southern States--History 7
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 7
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 6
Inventories 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 5
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 5
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 5
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 5
Merchants--Virginia--Buckingham County 5
Merchants--Virginia--Fluvanna County 5
Methodist Church--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Minutes 5
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Reports 5
Speeches 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 4
Banks and banking--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Blacksmithing--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Certificates 4
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Design drawings 4
Frederick County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Hanover County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 4
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Frederick County 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Shenandoah County 4
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Pamphlets 4
Plantation life--Virginia 4
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Plantations--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Postcards 4
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 2
German 2
Hebrew 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 5
Brown family 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
∨ more
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 4
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 3
University of Virginia 3
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Braxton family 2
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 2
Coalter family 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 2
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
Luttrell family 2
Madison, James, 1749-1812 2
Maury family 2
Perrin family 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Tabb family 2
Tabb, John Henry 2
The Virginia Comedians 2
Tucker 2
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Waller family 2
Waller, Benjamin 2
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 2
Webb, W. E. 2
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 2
Aberdeen Academy (King and Queen County, Va.) 1
Adams, Herbert Baxter, 1850-1901 1
Alexander, Mark 1
Allan, John, 1780?-1834 1
Allison White and Company 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Badgley, John 1
Banister, Anne Blair 1
Bannister family 1
Barclay family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Barraud Family 1
Barraud family 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws Hansford, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Daniel Cary, 1790-1867 1
Barraud, John Taylor, 1826-1860 1
Barraud, Otway Byrd, b. 1801 1
Battaile family 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Blair family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Blow family 1
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 1
Boyd family 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Brooks, Cornelia 1
Brown, Alexander, 1843-1906 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Charles 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Browning, Henry R 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Buckingham Female Collegiate Institute 1
Burks, Martin Parks, fl. 1817-1859 1
Burnett, Lelia W. 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Bywaters family 1
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 1
Cabell, Mayo 1
Cable family 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Robert Samuel, 1842-1918 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Carey family 1
+ ∧ less