Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Blow Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1772-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bray Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst B73
Scope and Contents
Negative photostats of papers, 1730-1817, of the Bray Associates, a division of the Society of the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, which was instrumental in providing libraries for the churches in America and setting up schools for the Christian education of free and enslaved Black children.
Dates:
1730-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leven Powell papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P87
Scope and Contents
This collection is largely comprised of the correspondence of Leven Powell, who served in American Revolutionary War as well as the Virginia House of Delegates, and the U. S. House of Representatives.The letters reflect military and civilian events in Virginia during the Revolutionary war, United States and Virginia politics, and foreign relations in the early national period. The collection also includes financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County,...
Dates:
1774-1806
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bishop James Madison Papers (Photostats)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents
Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others. These copies are from originals housed in various libraries: Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...
Dates:
1777-1812
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center