Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7
Bruton Parish Church Parish Aid Society Minute Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch7
Scope and Contents
Minute book, 1905-1914, of the Parish Aid Society of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va.
Dates:
1905-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Cerulean Society Minute Book (Williamsburg, Va.)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Mi10
Scope and Contents
Minutes, 1842 March 16-May 3, of meetings of the Cerulean Society of Williamsburg, Virginia which was a literary club formed by three women who inducted male "knights" into the group. A "knight" read a poem or thesis at each meeting and his talk was recorded in the volume. The book was kept by Mary Greenhow Lee while on a visit to Williamsburg and contains a list of people she visited. It also includes diary entries, 16 March-3 May 1842, concerning her visit in Williamsburg and 20...
Dates:
1842
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Lee Morton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates:
1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 U9
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.
Dates:
1890-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center