Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Manuscripts - People and Family Names
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents
An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Dates:
1621-1949; Majority of material found in 1800's
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McGavock Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates:
1760-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
C. L. Worthington Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents
The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...
Dates:
1752-1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center