Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sheldon Business Papers and Accounts
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Dates:
1826-1857
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Southall Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates:
1807-1904
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center