Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St9
Scope and Contents
Collection includes a lot of genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs but also report cards, class notes, and letters of different Stubbs family members. An oration delivered by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Sr. before the Phoenix Literary Society is also included as well as his application for the professorship at William & Mary. There are letters written William Carter Stubbs while a student at William & Mary,letters of John Catlett Stubbs while...
Dates:
1789-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 U9
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.
Dates:
1890-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William F. Willoughby Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents
Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...
Dates:
1818-1955; Majority of material found within 1891-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center