Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9
Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents
Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...
Dates:
1780-1996; Majority of material found in 1890-1899
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents
The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...
Dates:
1750-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Grigsby-Galt Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates:
1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maury Family papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents
The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates:
1777-1977
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robb-Bernard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Earl Gregg Swem Genealogy Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 Swem4, 2000.049
Scope and Contents
Papers collected by Earl Gregg Swem concerning the genealogies of his family and the family of his wife Lilia Hansbrough Swem. Families on which there is data include Swem (Swaim), Luce, Gregg, Wright, Farish and Smith. Includes written histories, documents, genealogical charts, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.
Addition 2000.49 is described on PDF inventory.
Dates:
1719-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wissler-Mayer Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.223
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1830s-1950s, of the Wissler, Mayer, and Erb families of Grottoes and Columbia Furnace, Virginia, and Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Included are photographs, an autograph album, a manuscript cookbook, receipts, two ledgers, a Bible and hymn book, a Wissler family record for the descendants of William Franklin Wissler and Elizabeth Mayer (m. 1890), and correspondence.
For a more detailed description see finding aid link below.
Dates:
1835-1952
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center