Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 10

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Dates: 1960-1990
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sarah R. Houghland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.254
Scope and Contents

This collection contains clippings, drawings, and other material related to the guide book In and Around Williamsburg With Children written by Sarah R. Houghland, as well as clippings and correspondence concerning Houghland's work with the League of Women Voters in organizing the 1976 Presidential Debate between Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1976-1980
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles and William Person Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.207
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, photographs, scrapbooks and other material related to the Person, Hickman, and Walton families. The bulk of the collection contains material related to Charles and William Person. Included are photographs of family members and the trips they took including to the York River, scrapbooks of the Person-Walton family and scenes from the Newport News Naval Yards, and an oral history conducted with William Person describing Williamsburg, Virginia in the first half...
Dates: circa 1900-2011; Majority of material found in 1920-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas E. Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material.  Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940.  He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944.  His first...
Dates: 1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Stryker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.37A
Scope and Contents

Material about and by Mayor Henry Stryker and Colonial Williamsburg hostess Fannie Stryker including reminiscences of Mrs. Stryker, photographic album on Mayor Stryker's retirement, scrapbook, 1957, of Jamestown Festival and visit of Queen Elizabeth. Mss. Acc. 1989.37a

Dates: 1916-1977
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.

Dates: 1967-1974
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Woodbridge Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.09
Scope and Contents

Papers relating to the Woodbridge and Mendenhall Families including materials of Julia Woodbridge Oxrieder, folklorist and author; her brother, Hensley Woodbridge, a bibliographer of Latin American literature; and their parents, Dean of the College of William and Mary Law School,  Dudley Woodbridge and his wife. Some material relates to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes diaries, scrapbooks, photographs and other materials.

Dates: 1927-2001
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Scrapbooks X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 8
Correspondence 7
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
Programs 4
Certificates 3
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Books 2
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Invitations 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Minutes 2
Newspapers 2
Notebooks 2
Pamphlets 2
Reports 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Art centers 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Broadsides 1
Cartoons 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Church bulletins 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Financial records 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Gardening--History--20th century 1
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 1
Gardening--Virginia 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
League of Women Voters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Membership lists 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Newsletters 1
Norge (Va.)--History 1
Obituaries 1
Oral histories 1
Ordinance 1
Pen drawing--19th century. 1
Photographic prints 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1976 1
Printed ephemera 1
Publications 1
Research Papers 1
Sermons 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
United States--Armed Services--Medical Care 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
University of Richmond. Richmond College--History 1
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Utilities 1
Women authors, American--20th century 1
Women college students 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--Education--Virginia--History 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
World War, 1939-1945--Chaplains 1
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 1
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Zoning ordinances 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
∨ more
Casey, Carlton 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hickman family 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Mendenhall family 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Oxrieder, Julia W. 1
Person, William (1903-1980) 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
University of Virginia 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Walton family 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woodbridge family 1
Woodbridge, Dudley Warner, 1896-1969 1
+ ∧ less