Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...
Dates:
1751-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bishop James Madison Papers (Photostats)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents
Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others. These copies are from originals housed in various libraries: Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...
Dates:
1777-1812
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Preston Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents
This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Dates:
1755-1836; Majority of material found in 1786-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center