Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Barraud Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...
Dates:
1799-1904; Majority of material found in 1810-1860
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Gideon Christian Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00150
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian. The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while...
Dates:
1838-1882
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Grigsby-Galt Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates:
1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Minnie A. Hill Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00932
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.
Dates:
1865-1869
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tazewell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Dates:
1838-1978; Majority of material found in 1860-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center