Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Carpenter Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C22
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1765-1922, of the Carpenter family of Rockingham County, Virginia. Includes papers of John Carpenter, William Carpenter and Thomas W. Carpenter. Includes letters, 1837, from Tennessee; and letters, 1851-1853, from Missouri; Confederate currency; accounts, 1810-1817, of C. T. Jones with Doctor John B. Botts; the will of Godfrey Hoge of Philadelphia; and a manuscript recipe booklet, ca. 1800.

Dates: 1765-1922
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maury Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of  the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates: 1777-1977
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Smith-Walker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sm8
Scope and Contents This collection of 3,098 pieces, dated about 1764-1916, consists of papers of a family of Smiths who lived at Smith's Cross Roads, Mecklenburg County, Virginia, and the Walker family who lived at Brunswick County, Virginia. Most of the papers are dated about 1860-1900. Some of the more interesting works include the following: A letter concerning news of the State Legislature (Va.), amending laws regarding transporting slaves across state lines, dated 28 Dec. 1806. A...
Dates: 1764-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Wissler-Mayer Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.223
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1830s-1950s, of the Wissler, Mayer, and Erb families of Grottoes and Columbia Furnace, Virginia, and Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Included are photographs, an autograph album, a manuscript cookbook, receipts, two ledgers, a Bible and hymn book, a Wissler family record for the descendants of William Franklin Wissler and Elizabeth Mayer (m. 1890), and correspondence.

For a more detailed description see finding aid link below.

Dates: 1835-1952
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Recipes X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 3
Financial records 3
Cookery, American 2
Photographs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
∨ more
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Account books 1
Autograph albums 1
Bible records 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Continental currency 1
Cookbooks 1
Cookery--Southern States 1
Cookery--Virginia 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Diaries 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
France--Foreign relations--1792-1815 1
Genealogy 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Liverpool (England)--History--19th century 1
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Missouri--History--19th century 1
New York (N.Y.)--History--19th century 1
Oceanography--19th century 1
Pennsylvania--Genealogy 1
Pennsylvania--Lancaster County--History 1
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
United States--Foreign relations--France 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Cotton Farms--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--18th century 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 1
German 1
 
Names
Botts, John B., Dr., fl. 1810-1817 1
Carpener, John, fl. 1800-1820 1
Carpenter Family 1
Erb family 1
Jones, C. T. 1
∨ more
Maury family 1
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 1
Mayer family 1
Smith family 1
Walker family 1
Wissler family 1
+ ∧ less