Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Carpenter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C22
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1765-1922, of the Carpenter family of Rockingham County, Virginia. Includes papers of John Carpenter, William Carpenter and Thomas W. Carpenter. Includes letters, 1837, from Tennessee; and letters, 1851-1853, from Missouri; Confederate currency; accounts, 1810-1817, of C. T. Jones with Doctor John B. Botts; the will of Godfrey Hoge of Philadelphia; and a manuscript recipe booklet, ca. 1800.
Dates:
1765-1922
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia G. Gray Cookery Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00131
Scope and Contents
Manuscript recipes, mainly nineteenth century, and a recipe manuscript volume, 1830-1845, including recipes for relishes, jellies, puddings, and cakes. Also includes recipes for soap and home remedies. Additions to the collection (1999.32) include correspondence of Sally Gray (daughter of Virginia G. Gray), article, "Holiday Hints,"edited by Virginia G. Gray, handout on "Colonial Cookery," by Virginia G. Gray and her manuscript, "An American Colonial Cookery, 1607-1800," as well as...
Dates:
1830-1845
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maury Family papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents
The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates:
1777-1977
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center