Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bishop James Madison Papers (Photostats)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents
Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others. These copies are from originals housed in various libraries: Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...
Dates:
1777-1812
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Wythe Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents
Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...
Dates:
1779-1927
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center