Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Civil War Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents
The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates:
1856-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents
Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...
Dates:
1802-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tazewell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Dates:
1838-1978; Majority of material found in 1860-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Christopher Tompkins Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T59
Scope and Contents
Logbooks, account books and accounts, 1807-1841, of Christopher Tompkins kept while captain of ship "Pocahontas", 1807-1809, and while running a general merchandise store in Mathews Co., Va. Includes typed excerpts from a memoir of Tompkins compiled by his son, Christopher Quarles Tompkins in 1860 and twenty-one pages from an account book listing foodstuffs of A. Y. P. Garnett, surgeon in Sally Tompkins' Confederate hospital, Robertson Hospital, in Richmond, Virginia during the Civil War.
Dates:
1778-1838
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center