Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Collection, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren Counties, Virginia; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also...
Dates: 1788-1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Joseph Entler Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad61-MsV Ad80
Scope and Contents

Daybooks and ledgers, 1821-1857, of Joseph Entler, merchant and barkeeper of Shepherdstown, Jefferson County, W. Va.

Dates: 1821-1857
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Langdon T. Hankins Daybook and Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00157
Scope and Contents

Two account books re Langdon T. Hankins General Store in Lightfoot: daybook, 1924-1925 and ledger, 1920's and early 1930's.

 

Account book of Langdton T. Hankins General Store, 1921-1930, and daybook, 1924-1925. Per note on daybook, Hankins General Store was located in Lightfoot, Virginia. In 2009, Hankins Industrial Park is in Toano, Virginia in James City County.

Dates: 1921-1930
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Samuel B. Finley Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame29-33
Scope and Contents

Two ledgers, two journals and a daybook, 1802-1859, of Samuel B. Finley, merchant, of Lexington, Va. Ledger "B" (MsV Ame29) contains accounts concerning the estate of John Tate (Samuel Finley, executor); daybook (MsV Ame 31) contains an inventory , 1813, of goods put into partnership with William Shields and A. Shields and a manuscript arithmetic copybook, 1832; and ledger, 1842-1842 (MsV Ame33) contains notes, 1851-1867, concerning a fruit orchard.

Dates: 1802-1859
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

West Family Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad 259-341
Scope and Contents

Account books, 1845-1901, of the West family, of Buckingham county, Va. Include memorandum books, account books (daybooks, ledgers, and journals) of several stores: Buckingham Female Collegiate Institute Store, Gravel Hill, Va.; West & Agee (John S. West and William C. Agee), Buckingham Court House, Va.; J. E. West and J. E. West (John Edmund West) & Bros., Dillwyn, Va. The collection includes account books of the Gravel Hill Post Office (John S. West and Mattie J. West).

Dates: 1845-1901
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Account books X
  • Subject: Daybooks X
  • Subject: Ledgers (Accounting) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Journals (accounts) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Bars (Drinking establishments)--West Virginia--Shepherdstown--History 1
Blacksmithing 1
Blacksmithing--Virginia 1
∨ more
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chicago (Ill.)--History--19th century 1
Clarke County (Va.)--Maps 1
Design drawings 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--Maps 1
Female Collegiate Institute, Buckingham County, Va.--History 1
Genealogy 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Land grants--Virginia 1
Legal documents 1
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lightfoot (Va.) 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--Maps 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 1
Memoranda Books 1
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Buckingham County 1
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 1
Merchants--West Virginia--Jefferson County 1
Postal service--Virginia--Buckingham County 1
Registers (lists) 1
Registers of birth, etc 1
Retail trade--Virginia--History 1
Roads--Virginia 1
Schools--Virginia 1
Schools--Virginia--Buckingham County 1
Shepherdstown (W. Va.)--History--19th century 1
Shoemakers--Virginia 1
Tanners 1
Tanning--History--19th century 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Universities and Colleges 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Warren County (Va.)--Maps 1
West Virginia--Maps 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Hankins General Store 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1