Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9
Austin-Twyman Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...
Dates:
1765-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents
2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates:
1872-1873
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hodgson-Estes Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H66
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1805-1874, of the Hodgson family of Columbia (Fluvanna County), Va.; Buckingham County, Va.; and Goochland County, Va. Includes correspondence, accounts and legal documents of Joseph Hodgson, William B. Hodgson, Jr. and Hodgson & Estes, Columbia, Va. There are nineteen manuscript volumes, mostly account books of Joseph Hodgson (trading as Hodgson & Ellis and Hodgson & Son), but also including a letterbook, 1850-1852 and 1860-1863, of Hodgson. Includes memorandum, 1856, of...
Dates:
1805-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lassiter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L33
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence and speeches); 1861-1928; of Francis Rives Lassiter and Charles Trotter Lassiter. Correspondence concerns Virginia Democratic Party, Prohibition, the Good Roads Movement, agriculture, and the presidential campaign of 1928. The collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the American Civil War; letter copybooks of both men; and papers, 1910, relating to the death of Francis Rives Lassiter. 962 items and 8 volumes. Acc. 2011.613...
Dates:
1861-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Millington Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.
Dates:
1801-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mongle-Hughes Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M74
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1857-1895, of members of the Mongle and Hughes families of Holston, Washington County, Va. and Evergreen, Tenn. Among the correspondents are J.J. Hughes, his sons William A. Hughes and Oliver F. Hughes and his daughter Sarah A. Hughes Mongle; and Samuel A. Mongle and James Mongle of Abingdon, Va. Includes papers, 1874-1884, concerning the registration of voters in Washington County, Va.; and accounts, 1832-1916, of Hughes & Co., Mongle & Hughes and J.B. Mongle &...
Dates:
1832-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group G
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group G
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...
Dates:
1645-1917
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Cities Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Dates:
1663-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center