Showing Collections: 26 - 35 of 35
Print Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00016
Scope and Contents
Prints and engravings removed from 18th century but mostly 19th century books or periodicals. Most prints cannot be matched with the book from which it came or the date. The location of the subject matter of each print or engraving is the primary criterion used in the organization of the collection.
Dates:
1740-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas G. and Louise Rowe Pullen Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P96
Scope and Contents
Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates:
1655-1791
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robb-Bernard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jean-Baptiste-Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 R58
Scope and Contents
Includes a couple of originals, copies prepared in the 18th century as well as typed transcripts of letters, 1782, of the Comte de Rochambeau concerning a variety of topics: seizures of blacks belonging to state of Virginia; reenforcements for French troops and acknowledgment of thanks of Williamsburg, Va. for French aid; a letter, 6 Sept, 1789, written while Rochambeau was commander of garrison at Strasbourg, France and dealing with riots (original and typed transcript); photostats of...
Dates:
1781-1789
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Theodore Mazurie Notebook
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nfr1
Scope and Contents
Notebook, 1806, written by Theodore Mazurie, Norfolk, Virginiaa. concerning the pronunciation of the French language.
Dates:
1806
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tronson du Coudray Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1998.59
Scope and Contents
Photostats, 1776-1777 and n.d. of military papers of Philippe Charles Jean Baptiste Tronson du Coudray (1738-1777), French soldier of fortune in the American Revolution who was a Major General in charge of works on the Deleware, 1777; manuscript; and notecards about Tronson du Coudray made by Dr. Joseph E. Fields of Williamsburg, VA.
Dates:
1776-1777
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nathaniel Beverley Tucker Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.09
Scope and Contents
Comprised mostly of letters to, from, and about Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1820-1890), a Virginian journalist and diplomat, his son Beverley Dandridge Tucker (1846-1930), a bishop, and their friends and family dating between 1830 and 1903. Family correspondents include Charles Ellis, Thomas H. Ellis, and Powhatan Ellis (brothers of Jane Shelton (Ellis) Tucker); Virginia Sarah Tucker Brooke, sister of Nathaniel Beverley Tucker ; Jane Shelton (Ellis) Tucker, wife Nathaniel Beverley Tucker;...
Dates:
1830-1903; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tuffin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 T81, 1994.28
Scope and Contents
Photocopies of papers, 1777-1783, from the Washington Papers at the Library of Congress relating to Marquis de La RouÃrie known in the American Revolution as Charles Armand Tuffin. Includes "With Sword in Hand", an English translation by J. D. Hufham of the work published in France under title "Le Marquis de la Rouerie et la Conjuration Bretonne", by G. Lenotre.
Dates:
1777-1791
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Stamps Cherry Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01778
Content Description
This is a collection of papers from William Stamps Cherry's visits to Africa around the end of the 19th century. Cherry was an American businessman, explorer, and writer involved in the Ivory trade. In these letters he mentions interacting with the native people, elephant hunting as well as ivory shipping, and the possibility of treaty negotiations. 35 letters in English and French, 13 business documents such as receipts, itemized lists, and a certificate of authenticity. Two...
Dates:
March 1893 - April 11, 1902
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Womack Wright Collection of Maps
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W93
Scope and Contents
Printed maps, circa 1675-1918, collected by Col. John Womack Wright pertaining to his interest in military events in Europe chiefly in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The collection primarily concerns the cartography of areas in France, Belgium, Holland, Germany, and Italy. The collection includes examples of the work of Willem Janszoon Blaeu, Guillaume de L'Isle, Johann Baptist Homann, Tobias Conrad Lotter, Placide de Saint Helene, John Senex, George Mattheus Seutter the Older; and...
Dates:
circa 1675-1918
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center