Box 9
Container
Contains 91 Results:
A. G. Whitfield, Bronson, Levy Co., Fla., to General [John Tyler, Jr., Jacksonville, Florida], 1876 June 19
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100741
Scope and Contents
Congratulates Tyler on his appointment but wishes it had been something "more elevated." 1 p. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 19
F. M. Huertas, n.p., to Gen[eral] John Tyler, Jr., n.p., 1876 June 20
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100742
Scope and Contents
Wants Tyler to come by and see him. 1 p. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 20
M. M. Borren[?], Tallahassee, Florida, to General John Tyler, Jr., n.p., 1876 June 20
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100743
Scope and Contents
Requests position at the Post Office. 1 p. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 20
[?] Cosens, Sav[anna]h, Georgia, to D.A. O'Bryne, n.p., [18]76 June 23
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100744
Scope and Contents
Will not be able to distribute the tickets for the lecture. 2 pp. ALS. Includes ALS, Caroline A. Lamar, n.p., to O'Byrne, n.p., concerning distribution of lecture tickets. 1 p.
Dates:
[18]76 June 23
Thomas V. Gibbs, Jacksonville, Florida, to John Tyler, [Jr., Jacksonville, Florida], [18]76 June 23
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100745
Scope and Contents
Requests a position at the Post Office. 2 pp. ALS.
Dates:
[18]76 June 23
H. W. Dewilly, Tallahassee, Florida, to John Tyler, Jr., [Jacksonville, Florida], 1876 June 24
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100746
Scope and Contents
Requests a position at the Post Office. 1 p. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 24
W. M. McIntosh, Jr., Tallahassee, Florida, to John Tyler, Jr., [Jacksonville, Florida], 1876 June 27
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100747
Scope and Contents
Requests position at the Post Office. 2 pp. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 27
Joseph H. Dunker, office [of] Florida Central Rail Road [sic], Jacksonville, Florida, to "Conductors," [Florida Central Railroad], 1876 June 27
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100748
Scope and Contents
Allows John Tyler, Jr., to go from Jacksonville to Tallahassee and back.
Dates:
1876 June 27
F. M. Huertas, n.p., to Gen[eral] John Tyler, Jr., n.p., 1876 June 27
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100749
Scope and Contents
Comments on finalization of some deal concerning Tyler and a "Mr. Abbot." 2 pp. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 27
John Tyler, Jr., Jacksonville, Florida, to His Excellency U.S. Grant, Washington City [sic], D.C., 1876 June 27
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100750
Scope and Contents
Points out attempts to keep him from his nomination as Post Master. 2 pp. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 27
[Some] Members of the State Republican Comm[ittee] of Florida, Jacksonville, Florida, to His Excellency U.S. Grant, Washington, D.C., 1876 June 29
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100751
Scope and Contents
Endorses appointment of John Tyler, Jr. as Post Master; signed by nine persons. 2 pp. Cy of LS.
Dates:
1876 June 29
John Tyler, Jr., Jacksonville, Florida, to His Excellency U.S. Grant, Washington City [sic], D.C., 1876 June 30
Item — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100752
Scope and Contents
Emphasizes endorsements of his appointment by some prominent men; discusses Conover versus Stearns; has received nothing official from Washington D.C. concerning his appointment as Post Master. 4 pp. ALS.
Dates:
1876 June 30
Folder 1, 1876 January-February
File — Box: 9, Folder: 1
Identifier: id100657
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63: Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates:
1876 January-February
Folder 2, 1876 March-April
File — Box: 9, Folder: 2
Identifier: id100681
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63: Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates:
1876 March-April
Folder 3, 1876 May-June 15
File — Box: 9, Folder: 3
Identifier: id100713
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63: Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates:
1876 May-June 15
Folder 4, 1876 June 15-30
File — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: id100735
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63: Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates:
1876 June 15-30