Scope and Contents

Despite personal interruptions, has finally "finished the whole gang" [i.e. Conover and company] in an enclosed article from the Observer. 1 p. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Has been transferred to a church in Helena, Arkansas. 2 pp. ALS. Including ADS from J. Anderson certifying that Tyler was a member of Methodist Episcopal South. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Relates that Christmas Day for her is as any other day; hopes he will write her and let her know where to send letters to. 3 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Articles state that Tyler is a "blatant hypocrite" and that if the Republican Party is to succeed, they must settle their differences and ignore men such as Tyler.

Scope and Contents

Invites Tyler to spend the day with them at Glenwood. 1 p. AC.

Scope and Contents

Encloses material to be published and awaits Tyler's presence at the Centennial. 1 p. PL.

Scope and Contents

Requests that he communicate something [?] to [A. Pope?] in Wilmington, N.C. 1 p. AC.

Scope and Contents

Questions John about one of the comments he made in a recent letter to Robbie [Robert Tyler, Jr.?]; warns John that he should not make such general comments about Florida politics. 2 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsAdvises him to hold the Independents and Southern Republicans together, and to demand that the Republicans either support him [for the U.S. Senate] or accept Governor Stearns. 1 p. ACyS of ALS. Including ANS, John Tyler, Jr., n.p. 29 January 1875, indicating that he has contacted the "National Administration," advising them to back Hicks for the U.S. Senate; also noting that Tyler is not backing Hicks to defeat Stearn, but rather to provide an additional viable...

Scope and Contents

Contains news of the family, particularly Bessie [Dennison] and "Tootsie" [Priscilla Tyler Goodwin] whose work on stage is being well received; also news of the other children of Robert and Priscilla Cooper Tyler, including Robert, Grace, Letitia, and Lizzie; comments on the deaths of "Cousin John Seawell" and Wat H. Tyler. 4 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Regards obtaining the keys to Tyler's front door, a table and a trunk. 1 p. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Notes that he had allowed Wat H. Tyler to wear a watch seal that had been presented to his [JT] grandfather by President Jefferson. 1 p. AL.

Scope and Contents

Describes her sorrow over the death of her husband, and his affection for him [JT]; gives news on careers and marriages of all her children; assures himthat his grandfather's watch seal [a gift from President Jefferson] will be returned. 14 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Notes Simon Conovers defeats and [Governor] Stearns' continued dealings with the Democrats; bemoans his [JT] not being appointed to the same post by the Republicans. 2 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Conover has failed to position himself to become Governor in 1876, and [Governor] Stearns has failed to position himself for the Senate; now both desire the Governorship; discusses appointments by Stearns; all this rivalry is likely to tear the Republican Party apart. 2 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Capt[ain] Estill has refused to publish the [Tyler's] letter unless the author's name is given; Col[onel] Sims is offered the letter for his "Journal in Florida;" Sims says the letter is "Spirited and well-written;" but refuses to publish it when he learns that Young offered it to another publisher before he offered it to Sims; Young suggests that Tyler write Sims himself. 4 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Returns papers that Tyler "kindly furnished;" him with; apologizes for not having returned them sooner; offers his services. 1 p. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Sends word that Col[onel] Sims will publish Tyler's letter "with pleasure" since Tyler wrote to him; returns the letters. 1 p. ALS.