Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Thinks he has as much influence on the "Ring"; as any nonmember can have; believes he will be appointed to FloridaSupreme Court; will ask Adkins to support him for the Senate. 3 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

General [Edward S.] Sanford will return by the end of the month; the Union and the Republican say he has withdrawn [from the Senate race]. 1 p. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Hopes the [Republican] party will lay aside partisan concerns and nominate him for the Senate; if the assessor districts are consolidated, hopes he will retain him at least until he can find another position. 2 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

As to Tyler's chances for the Senate and possible supporters; let him know who supports his appointment to the Florida Supreme Court. 2 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Believes the Republicans had promised the Senate seat to Gov. [Harrison] Reed; considers Tyler a good prospect; is not seeking the place for himself, but wouldn't refuse it if offered; believes [William Archer] Cocke the proper man for [the Florida Supreme Court]. 4 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Has been trying to help him, but with no success; Bromwell and Pickett involved in sale of Confederate records. 1 p. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Don't let people think Hart is going to appoint Mr. Pa[?] to the Supreme Court. 2 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Judge [E.M.] Randall says Judge Hart is considering only him [WAC] so far, for appointment to the Supreme Court; Tyler, Randall, Walton, and he can help each other politically. 2 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing letter,

Scope and Contents

Is coming to Tallahassee for the sitting of the Supreme Court; is preparing a lecture to deliver in Jacksonville; is working on Walker to get him to support Tyler. 2 pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

About renting rooms for Tyler in Jacksonville. 1 p. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Is confident he will receive a judgeship, but maybe not on the Supreme Court. 1 p. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

The rumor is that Hart will nominate Franklin Frazer as his successor on the Supreme Court; Hart considering Foster for treasurer - he is honest and will not cause a scandal; no one has more influence with Hart than he. 4 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

About political appointment and former Gov. Walker's support for Tyler. 2 pp. ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Requests him to donate $100 to the Republican Party for campaign purposes. 1 p. PL. Signed by J.D. Enos, Asst. Secretary.

Scope and Contents

Should he continue writing letters for the Sentinel?; the South should not support Greeley; the Independent National Democratic Committee is working for Grant; he would like to send the letter he wrote to Dr. Wat Henry Tyler of Westmoreland, Va., to Mr. Henry C. Page for publication in his paper, the N.Y. Era. 4 pp. Cy of ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Has sent his letter to Dr. [Wat Henry] Tyler to Henry C. Page of the N.Y. Era; the letter will appear at the right place at the right time. 1 p. ALS. Including a Cy of ALS, from William Archer Cocke, Monticello, Florida, to Henry C. Page, Ed[itor of the] N.Y. Era, 3 Oct. 1872. Am enclosing a letter from John Tyler, Jr., for publication; he is a fine person and a devoted Grant man.

Scope and Contents

Thanks him and the president [for removing Marshall Conant and Att[orne]y Bisbee]; urges him to tell the president he will always serve him. 1 p. Cy of ALS. Including AN, [by John Tyler, Jr.], summarizing contents of letter.