Skip to main content

Box 37

 Container

Contains 10 Results:

Nathaniel Beverley Tucker, St. Louis to ?, 1819 August 4

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Missouri Compromise. Outlines argument. "We are the children of the south and west."

Dates: 1819 August 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

Robert Saunders, Williamsburg, to St. George Tucker, 1819 August 9

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Mrs. (Elizabeth) Skipwith died Friday night August 6. Dr. Henry Skipwith her son-in-law was with her three or four weeks. Received a letter from Mr. Wheeler and he said that Mr. Chalmers would not pay Mrs. Skipwith what he owed her. Susan has been here three weeks. The old city is very healthy.

Dates: 1819 August 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

William Nekervis, Farmer's Bank of Virginia, to St. George Tucker, 1819 August 11

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

The $450 has been placed to your credit.

Dates: 1819 August 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

John Page, Union, Monroe, W. Va, to St. George Tucker, to the care of Joseph Cabell, near Warminster, Nelson County, Virginia, 1819 August 14

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Arrived here from Fincastle. Board is cheap, $96 per annum. Prospects as lawyer promising. Appreciates aid and counsel Tucker has given.

Dates: 1819 August 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

William H. Fitzhugh, Ravensworth (Fairfax County, Virginia) to St. George Tucker, 1819 August 15

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Sorry to hear of your illness. Wish I could meet you at Richmond, but we are expecting Maria's family. Why don't you come here?

Dates: 1819 August 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

Japer Hughes, 1819 August 15

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Cover to letter enclosing his petition to the War Department.

Dates: 1819 August 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker, Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1819 August 25

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents Last letter filled heart with anguish. Undeserved miseries of life convincing evidences of future state of existence. God's attributes desirable qualities exalted to infinity. Letter from sister afforded more satisfaction than usual. Infant playfulness of Betsy's children and cousins diverts minds of sisters from grief. Harry's (Tucker) misfortunes still hang heavy. Letter from his says to embark for Charleston or Philadelphia. Must have incurred debts in first excursion. Presumes wife's...
Dates: 1819 August 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

W. Champe Carter, Culpeper, to St. George Tucker, 1819 August 30

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

I think Mrs. Skipwith's will is in your possession.. Have it recorded and send a copy to me.

Dates: 1819 August 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker, Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, Joseph Cabell's near Warminster, Virginia, 1819 August 31

 Item — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents Wishes he may experience amendment of health. Hopes Joseph Cabell and dear niece Frances Lelia Coalter benefitted by excursion. Also that Judge John Coalter finds it recreation. Regards to beloved sister Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker), Mrs. Polly (Mrs. Mary Walker Carter Cabell) and Elizabeth Tucker Coalter. Best wishes to MRs. Page and friends in Williamsburg. Carr has accounts that Henry is in perfect health in Winchester recently. He returned to family in country. Mrs. Wilson...
Dates: 1819 August 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37 / Folder 13: Correspondence

Folder 13: Correspondence, 1819 August

 File — Box: 37, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series is currently being added to the Box/Folder List section of the finding aid. Please check back periodically for updates. This series contains the correspondence of St. George Tucker, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman, and Nathaniel Beverley Tucker. The series is arranged in chronological order.

Dates: 1819 August
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 37