Skip to main content

Box 28

 Container

Contains 8 Results:

Doctor Philip Barraud, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1808 April 5

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266586
Scope and Contents

Heard of the misfortunes that lately visited your fraternal affections. Received the enclosed on your brother's death.

Dates: 1808 April 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Judith (Randolph) Randolph, Bizarre, Farmville, Virginia to John Randolph, in Congress, Washington. N. Orleans mail., 1808 April 5

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266592
Scope and Contents Thankful for good news he had from her boy (John St. George Randolph). Edward Dillon called about seed oats but overseer says there is no land for that purpose. Galding has 140 bushels in the ground. Theodore Randolph was pleased with William Wirt's defense of Blanks. Tudor could not get in, crowd was so great. Murderer met his just sentence. Saw little of Nathaniel Beverley Tucker who went back to Charlotte court. Regrets melancholy events in father's (St. George Tucker) family. He still...
Dates: 1808 April 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1808 April 7

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266600
Scope and Contents Returns letters from unfortunate sister Mrs. Jane Tucker in London. Her resources scanty for large family since recent death of husband, Nathaniel Tucker. Had supposed brother's medical practice manifold more profitable than now appears. Does not wonder his spirits depressed with so great dropping off, especially when occasioned by preference to vain coxcomb with less merit. Shall write sister by New York c/o Richard J. Tucker. Remembrances to sister (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker) and...
Dates: 1808 April 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Charles Carter, Paris to St. George Tucker, 1808 April 12

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266606
Scope and Contents

I finished my anatomical studies three weeks ago. The course commences at Edinburgh in November. Mr. Cabell informs me that you are willing to relinquish to my sister and me your part of the Corotoman estate. I wish Father to look after my part or get some other person to do it.

Dates: 1808 April 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

J. Ellis to St. George Tucker, 1808 April 16

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266608
Scope and Contents

You stated that Mr. Cabell might purchase Robin and family. May be purchased for $400 when delivered and $400 in 90 days after.

Dates: 1808 April 16
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Alexander Campbell, Williamsburg to St. George Tucker, Richmond, circa 1808 April 23

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266610
Scope and Contents

I need some pocket money.

Dates: circa 1808 April 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Martinsburg to St. George Tucker, Richmond, 1808 April 30

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id266614
Scope and Contents

Son (St. George Tucker) has the whooping cough but is better. Asks whether Judge Lyons has set during present court of appeals. Doctor ? has lost daughter. Has heard that brother Beverley is dispondent. Self hopes to dispose of property given him to advantage and perhaps help him with it. Knows brother hates to be a charge to father.

Dates: 1808 April 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Folder 5: Correspondence, 1808 April

 File — Box: 28, Folder: 5
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series is currently being added to the Box/Folder List section of the finding aid. Please check back periodically for updates. This series contains the correspondence of St. George Tucker, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman, and Nathaniel Beverley Tucker. The series is arranged in chronological order.

Dates: 1808 April
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28