Skip to main content

Box 28

 Container

Contains 9 Results:

James Hagarty, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 18

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id262975
Scope and Contents

Am sending you a cask of whiskey which had been lodged in the cellar of the Bell Tavern.

Dates: 1808 February 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Edward Waddey, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 18

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id262985
Scope and Contents

Have collected $616.99. Since the price of the rum was misunderstood, I have given you half the difference. Including Tucker's account.

Dates: 1808 February 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Judith (Randolph) Randolph, Bizarre, near Farmville, Virginia to John Randolph, in Congress, Washington. Mail., 1808 February 19

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263890
Scope and Contents

Glad he is recovering from fall. Mr. Galding has plowed middle lot and low grounds. Cattle will do well. Many sheep died, not from lack of fodder, but because flock was too big. Overseer says tobacco is ready. Michaux's executors importuned so for payment of the blacksmith's account, due three years, that self sent down four hogsheads tobacco at $4. These people give much trouble about money. Doctor Thomas Robinson anxious to move to Petersburg, but not at present.

Dates: 1808 February 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Frances Shadforth, Gibralter to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 20

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263900
Scope and Contents

I can tell you nothing respecting the disposal of my Brother's property. We have never received an answer from Captain Kelly. We will not offer the property to anyone, but you. Please send me 500£. Including Tucker's answer 1808 July 11.

Dates: 1808 February 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

William H. Cabell, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 24

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263910
Scope and Contents

Received the check for $175.01. My brother has gone to Shirley and expects to be with you in a few days.

Dates: 1808 February 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Judith (Randolph) Randolph, Bizarre, Farmville, Virginia to John Randolph, in Congress, Washington. Mail., 1808 February 25

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263915
Scope and Contents Fears her letters are often lost. Hears that Congress will adjourn for two months on March 15th. Snipe season is commencing. Is told Peyton Randolph in bad health. Not seen him or (Edward) Dillon since Christmas. Mr. Venable up for funeral of sister and brother. Returns to Richmond. This is last sheet of paper. Unable to get any to write to John St. George Randolph. Mrs. Robinson and the eccentric doctor inquire for him. Minniken (horse) staked herself, but injury is temporary. Rosetta too...
Dates: 1808 February 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Edward Waddey, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 26

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263920
Scope and Contents

Sent you a check for $379.35 per account. The articles will be sent to you. The box from Washington has not arrived.

Dates: 1808 February 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1808 February 29

 Item — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id263925
Scope and Contents John Randolph's accident not known to self until several days afterward. Caesar Augustus Rodney, Attorney-General and J. R.'s particular friend, and self tried unsuccessfully several times to see him. Informed there was neither fracture nor dislocation. Had no knowledge of excessive pain suffered. Saw him for first time at his lodgings at Georgetown, when he returned from Key's. Never thought of asking about difference in apparent length of two limbs. J. R.'s conduct to self always kind and...
Dates: 1808 February 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Folder 2: Correspondence, 1808 February 18-29

 File — Box: 28, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series is currently being added to the Box/Folder List section of the finding aid. Please check back periodically for updates. This series contains the correspondence of St. George Tucker, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman, and Nathaniel Beverley Tucker. The series is arranged in chronological order.

Dates: 1808 February 18-29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 28