Skip to main content

Box 25

 Container

Contains 224 Results:

John Randolph, 1805 January 6

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258191
Scope and Contents

Appointing St. George Tucker power of attorney for John Randolph and Henry St. George Tucker, to convey lots in Blandford.

Dates: 1805 January 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Isaac and John P. Pleasants, Baltimore to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 7

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258193
Scope and Contents

We will act in case of the miscarriage of Edward Carter’s bill. Send us a draft for $666.81. (included: Tucker’s answer, 1805 January 17).

Dates: 1805 January 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Edward Carter to Messrs. Isaac and John P. Pleasants, 1805 January 7

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258195
Scope and Contents

Please pay St. George Tucker $666.81. Place this to the account of the Corotoman estate.

Dates: 1805 January 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

William Waller Hening, Richmond to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, 1805 January 8

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258197
Scope and Contents

Thanks him for bill to regulate practice or appeals. Will be taken up today. Fears it will fail. Approves his plan for state university, but fears finances of state prevent its erection. Surprise at directions caucus gave state treasurer in vote of state in choice of bank directions. Bank stock has fallen and may fall further.

Dates: 1805 January 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Dudley Woodworth, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 8

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258199
Scope and Contents

I could not get the pineapple cheese. The wine from Mr. Armistead’s was put on the packet.

Dates: 1805 January 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Chapman Johnson, Staunton to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 11

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258201
Scope and Contents

When I copied your notes from the Revised Code, I said no one else would copy them. Can they be copied now. Sorry I was not able to visit Williamsburg this winter.

Dates: 1805 January 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Edward Carter, Hay Market, Virginia to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 12

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258203
Scope and Contents

Am sending another bill as the first one miscarried.

Dates: 1805 January 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Thomas Norvell, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 12

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258205
Scope and Contents

I will forward the certificates. If your letter had been sooner, I could have gotten the shares at $55.00.

Dates: 1805 January 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

William Dabney, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 13

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258207
Scope and Contents

Mr. Norvell purchased the additional shares. Mr. Coalter deposited $340 to your account.

Dates: 1805 January 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Pelene Mainville and Pierre Daniel, St. Croix to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 14

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 4
Identifier: id258209
Scope and Contents

Written in French.

Dates: 1805 January 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 4: Correspondence

Thomas Norvell, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 17

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258211
Scope and Contents

Mr. George Tucker put your 25 shares in the Bank. I put there 12 shares.

Dates: 1805 January 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Williamsburg to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, 1805 January 18

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258213
Scope and Contents

Chooses this method of mentioning subject. Asks if he should not seek a political life. He realizes that Polly (Mary Carter) will never love him and that he will always love her. He feels in her presence and must leave.

Dates: 1805 January 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Louis Wercy, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 18

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258215
Scope and Contents

Received check, $86.50 paying your account.

Dates: 1805 January 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

George Tucker, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 19

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258217
Scope and Contents

The money was paid to Mr. Norvell. Mr. Pleasants has some notes due the 22nd and if they are paid he can discharge the balance of Birch and Small’s bond. Am sending you some lottery tickets to sell. I intend to go to the play tonight with Marie.

Dates: 1805 January 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Doctor Philip Barraud, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 24

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258219
Scope and Contents

Our boys arrived safely. Have consulted Bob Taylor as to your proposals to the Common Council. Our harbor was impassible yesterday from the ice.

Dates: 1805 January 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

William Dabney, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 24

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258221
Scope and Contents

Enclosing a statement of your account in the Bank of Virginia.

Dates: 1805 January 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

John Coalter (1771-1838), 1805 January 26

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258223
Scope and Contents Will. Bequests to John Randolph; Henry St. George Tucker; wife (Mrs. Anne] Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter; sisters Polly (Mary Coalter), Betsy, Jinney and Peggy; child (Frances Lelia Coalter) or children of self and wife Frances; mother Mrs. Frances Davenport; James Davenport. Executors Henry St. George Tucker, Jacob Kinney and wife Frances Coalter. Mentions St. George Tucker, late wife (Mrs. Margaret (Davenport) Coalter, Robert Greenhow, Jacob Swoope, Robert Douthat, John Miller, Mrs....
Dates: 1805 January 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Frances Hill (Currie) Allison, Petersburg to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 27

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258225
Scope and Contents

I am here since summer. Eliza has been very ill. Terrible winter here.

Dates: 1805 January 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Robert Taylor, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 27

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258300
Scope and Contents

I have given your proposal to the Mayor.

Dates: 1805 January 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Ann Cary Randolph Morris, Bizarre to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 28

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258304
Scope and Contents

I heard Judy was very ill so I came here to nurse her. Mrs. Johnston and my brother William have supplied me with books.

Dates: 1805 January 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Henry St. George, 1805 January 28

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258308
Scope and Contents

Appointing St. George Tucker power of attorney for Henry St. George Tucker, to convey lots in Blandford. Witnessed by: Nathaniel Beverley Tucker, Maria War, and Mary W. Carter.

Dates: 1805 January 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

George Tucker, Richmond to St. George Tucker, 1805 January 29

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258312
Scope and Contents

The lottery tickets will be drawn on February 10. The wheel has gained $2000. Birch and Small’s bond is discharged. I have just seen Henry.

Dates: 1805 January 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

John Coalter, 1805 January 30

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258320
Scope and Contents

Appointing St. George Tucker power of attorney for John Coalter, to convey lots in Blandford. Witnessed by: John Davis.

Dates: 1805 January 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Merry Oaks, 10 miles above Richmond to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, 1805 January 30

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 5
Identifier: id258328
Scope and Contents

High water at Bottoms Bridge induced him to take the road over Coles’ ferry. Ferry boat had six inches of water when it reached New Kent landing. Had miserable accommodations at the (New Kent?) Courthouse. Joined crowd of fox hunters. Saw play Venice presented in Richmond. Green was good actor and his wife good in Belvedira. Too tired to go to dance. Attended to business.

Dates: 1805 January 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 5: Correspondence

Isaac and John P. Pleasants, Baltimore to St. George Tucker, 1805 February 2

 Item — Box: 25, Folder: 6
Identifier: id258332
Scope and Contents

We gave Otway Byrd’s widow an order of John Pleasants for $381.94. We enclose a Bank note for $200. (on verso: Tucker’s answer).

Dates: 1805 February 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 25 / Folder 6: Correspondence