Skip to main content

Box 10

 Container

Contains 178 Results:

St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Matoax to Captain William? Morgan, Bermuda, 1783 July 14

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229078
Scope and Contents The Loan Office Certificates of this state have not yet been refunded nor any provisions for payment of the interest. The Assembly will discuss this at their next session. They will probably provide funds for the regular payment of the interest and funds for the redemption of the principal at a future day. I doubt that the redemption of the principal will be paid in less than ten years. I doubt at present whether you could dispose of these certificates. The depreciation as fixed by Act of...
Dates: 1783 July 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

James M,thews, Petersburg to St. George Tucker, 1783 July 17

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229079
Scope and Contents

I am leaving this place and my business has not been settled. Please obtain the money from Mr. Nicholas and pay it to Messrs. Gordon and Campbell.

Dates: 1783 July 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

Doctor Arthur Lee, Philadelphia to St. George Tucker near Petersburg, Virginia, 1783 July 21

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229100
Scope and Contents

Asks Tucker to take legal steps to recover money from executor of Captain Taylor. David Ross has note at hand. Encloses note for small sum overdue from Captain William Green, son of Colonel Green, which asks Tucker to obtain. Congress still at Princeton. Robert Morris will campaign for Philadelphia since he has more wicked influence here. He had expected to be prime minister. Potomac and Delaware are competitors for permanent residence of Congress. Figures concerning notes.

Dates: 1783 July 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

Walker Maury, Burlington, Orange county to St. George Tucker, 1783 July 21

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229101
Scope and Contents

Sorry Tucker thinks the increased tuition is too much. Gives reasons why it is necessary. House can accomodate 40 boys. Gives Tucker terms for future. Would like to have school examined by judges semi-annually to provide satisfaction. Hopes to get tutor in mathematics from England. Would like 15 or 16 more students by fall.

Dates: 1783 July 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

Major Francis Muir to Colonel St. George Tucker, Matoax, 1783 July 30

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229102
Scope and Contents

The bearer waits on you for the warrantee of Mrs. Poythress which I gave you a Bailios. I am on my way to Richmond to advise with Mr. Randolph and Mason on the validity of it.

Dates: 1783 July 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

Doctor Thomas Tudor Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to St. George Tucker, 1783 July 30

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 7
Identifier: id229103
Scope and Contents Little to be said for his prospects here. Whole practice of Doctor Garden fallen to gentleman who settled here whilst British in possession. Rest divided among former practitioners and new ones. Believes shall accept proposal of partnership with Doctor Chanler. Asks if determined on going to Bermuda in fall. Not yet at license to write him news. Some little disturbances here. Asks about sister (Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker), children, Miss Patty Hall, Miss Maria Rind, St. George...
Dates: 1783 July 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 7: Correspondence

Henry Tucker (1713-1787), London to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 2

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229104
Scope and Contents I hope Thomas Tudor will settle himself and go on with his profession. I am sending some medicines to him in Charles Town. I have met Mr. McConoco, of your neighborhood and he tells me you are talking of a trip to Bermuda. I also saw Colonel Jack Alligood who knew you. I hope to get home by next summer. I don't believe our country will be much benefited by my being here. I have had a very disagreeable time with nothing, but complaints and opposition with the ministry. I have been soliciting...
Dates: 1783 August 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

James Monroe and Samuel Hardy, Richmond, circa 1783 August 7

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229105
Scope and Contents

Appointed to settle value of land in Cumberland county which St. George Tucker bought from Beverley Randolph on June 18, 1778. Parties disputed because of depreciation of money. They value it as 40 sh. per acre.

Dates: circa 1783 August 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Donald Campbell, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 8

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229106
Scope and Contents

Arrived here 2 days ago after an agreeable journey. Found your books at Smithfield. Have sent them up. There has been a great change in this place since I left. A great number of houses are being built.

Dates: 1783 August 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Wills Cowper Branch to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 8

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229107
Scope and Contents

I do not consider myself accountable for salt that was stolen out of my warehouse. Many gentlemen lost goods at the same time, but you are the only one who demanded payment. My account against you is £93.12.10 and five years interest which makes, £117.1.

Dates: 1783 August 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Wills and John Cowper, Nansemond to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 10

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229111
Scope and Contents

Received the Brig Friendship's accounts. The balance is larger than we expected. We would like to see Mr. H. Tucker's vouchers.

Dates: 1783 August 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

John Taylor, Norfolk to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 10

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229112
Scope and Contents

I shall forward the letter to your father. I am sending you a small keg of old spirit, please accept this. I shall leave in a day or two for England.

Dates: 1783 August 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Wills and John Cowper, Suffolk, Virginia to Henry Tucker, 1783 August 12

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229113
Scope and Contents

Received from St. George Tucker sundry accounts relative to the Brig Friendship.He requests that if we can't make immediate payment to adjust the accounts and ackowledge the balance. Why did you send the vessel to St. Thomas and then to Virginia without a cargo or freight. Why was so much material charged to us on account of the brig? We will settle the accounts with St. George Tucker. Filed under date 1780 July 13.

Dates: 1783 August 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Eliza Harleston, Charles Town to Mrs. Frances (Bland) Tucker, circa 1783 August 12

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229114
Scope and Contents

I have been engaged lately with Mr. Middleton's wedding. He fell in love with a cousin of mine, Miss Motte. I was a bridesmaid. Major Pierce is engaged to a Miss Charlotte Fenwick. General Greene insists that I say something about himself.

Dates: circa 1783 August 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Theodorick Bland (1742-1790), Springfield to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 13

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229298
Scope and Contents

Obliged for his sending own man Arthur up. Believes him a great rascal. Enclosed is Doctor Field's account with £3.8.9 balance in his favor. Which please allow as discount on Griffin's judgment. Also account enclosed and proved against Captain Morgan. Gave copy to John Morrison.

Dates: 1783 August 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to St. George Tucker, Matoax near Petersburg, Virginia, 1783 August 13

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229312
Scope and Contents St. George to be pleased to see General Nathanael? Greene. Assembly some time sitting. Taken into consideration recommendation of Congress respecting 5% import. Not desirous of giving up any power unless necessity. Most people admire letter of General Washington to Governor Benjamin Harrison. Resolution of legislature similar to that of his state with respect to banished Tories. Mrs. Harleston intends writing. Resolved to write to sister (Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker), St. George...
Dates: 1783 August 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker, Matoax near Petersburg, Virginia, 1783 August 13

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229314
Scope and Contents

Her friend Mrs. Harleston said to be engaged to Major or Colonel Hamilton who is gone northward. Asks for catalogue of marriages, births, and deaths in Virginia. Aso all that are jilted. Asks is Miss Langley Nancy married as heard. Also Major Jones to Miss Pride. Inquires is Randolph consoled for loss of Miss Carey.

Dates: 1783 August 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Eliza Harleston, Charles Town to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 15

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229315
Scope and Contents

Your brother's arrival made me happy as I heard from you. Sorry to hear Patty Hall's complaint is still prevailing. Poor Edward's has gone away.

Dates: 1783 August 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Henry Tucker (1713-1787), London to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 17

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229316
Scope and Contents I have just had a card from Mr. R. Crew of Virginia who is sending a vessel to James River. Tell St. George his brother Tudor and Sister are well. There is no account of the definitive treaty or commercial treaty being signed. By the newspaper I find Washington has resigned his command. It appears to me things are not carried on, nor that attention paid to Congress in a manner suitable to the great work in hand for regulating the general government of the United States, if you differ among...
Dates: 1783 August 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

John Hutchings, Surry to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 19

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229317
Scope and Contents

Glad you informed me of Scott's injunction in Chancery against J. and Joseph Hutchings. I wrote Colonel Davis in June concerning it, but never heard from him. It seems he will not appear for us. Please ask if he obtained a copy of Scott's bill from the Clerk's Office. If he has not, will you please take the suit for us? John Scott purchased sundry articles of Florence McNamara who kept a store at Petersburg for John and Joseph Hutchings. He refused payment.

Dates: 1783 August 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Thomas Pierce, Smithfield to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 25

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229318
Scope and Contents

Captain Mallory Todd refused payment of the order as he had no property belonging to these gentlemen. Please advise me what plan to follow.

Dates: 1783 August 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Joseph Prentis, Williamsburg to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 25

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229319
Scope and Contents

Am enclosing a bond which belongs to Mrs. Tuel of this place against John Allen who lives at Mr. Armistead's near Petersburg. Please recover the money.

Dates: 1783 August 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

John Osborne to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 26

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229320
Scope and Contents

"I am surprised to hear that you will not pay a debt due me from you. You desired me to let Mr. Darrell have what ever he wanted and you would pay me. You owe me £32.2.10, which was payable in February 1781."

Dates: 1783 August 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

John Hylton, Forrest to St. George Tucker, Chesterfield, 1783 August 29

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229321
Scope and Contents

You will receive an order on Blackman Mosely, George Robertson, Thomas Worsham for 40,000 pounds of inspected tobacco. Please ask Mr. Eppes if he gave the writ to Archibald Bass.

Dates: 1783 August 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence

Henry Randolph, Warwick to St. George Tucker, 1783 August 29

 Item — Box: 10, Folder: 8
Identifier: id229322
Scope and Contents

Wishes Tucker to appear for him in court on case of bond he gave Benjamin Harrison for £4,000 pounds of tobacco.

Dates: 1783 August 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 10 / Folder 8: Correspondence