Skip to main content

Box 8

 Container

Contains 166 Results:

Box 8, 1780 January - 1781 July

 File — Box: 8
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series is currently being added to the Box/Folder List section of the finding aid. Please check back periodically for updates. This series contains the correspondence of St. George Tucker, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman, and Nathaniel Beverley Tucker. The series is arranged in chronological order.

Dates: 1780 January - 1781 July
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence

Anne (Butterfield) Tucker, Bermuda to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, circa 1780 January

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227364
Scope and Contents

I sincerely congratulate you and your wife on the occasion and hope the dear little Babe will be a comfort to you. We have received letters from your Papa. I hope you have recovered.

Dates: circa 1780 January
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Thomas Shore to St. George Tucker, Mattox, 1780 January 18

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227365
Scope and Contents

Has sent 6 flat bars of iron equal in weight to those received from his wagon. Has delivered his waggoner a hogsheads of molasses, but can't gauge exact amount. Invoice will determine it. Writes that ----- at Richmond is worth £20 per gall and demand is brisk. Report in town that captain of brig has sold cargo of molasses to Mr. Smith of Baltimore for £6.

Dates: 1780 January 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Anne Tucker (Mother) to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, 1780 January

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Congratulates him on the birth of a son. Your brother Henry is settled in Yorkshire

Dates: 1780 January
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

D. L. Hylton to St. George Tucker, 1780 January 29

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227366+2094:2104
Scope and Contents

I have planned to visit you, but the weather has been so severe. I expect you want the sales of your salt to settle your old matters. From the accounts enclosed a balance due me of £785.9.7.

Dates: 1780 January 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker (1752-1788), Matoax to St. George Tucker, Brandon, circa 1780 February

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227367
Scope and Contents

Dick (Richard Randolph) ill. Bad weather kept her from visiting Brandon. Durand has made better picture than she expected and is now waiting for him. Sorry they cannot be sent. St. George Tucker is at Petersburg. Has been unwell with sore throat. Children good.

Dates: circa 1780 February
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Nathaniel Lytteton Savage, John Dixon, 1780 February 3

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227368
Scope and Contents

Deed for land in Gloucester County, sold to John Dixon for fifty thousand dollars by Savage witnessed by J. S. Maury Fontaine, Mordecai Throckmorton, Dudley Cary, Armistead Smith, Abraham Boswell.

Dates: 1780 February 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Henry Tucker (1743-1808), St. George's, Bermuda to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, Virginia, 1780 February 4

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227369
Scope and Contents

Again mentions father's safe arrival in England. Natty (Nathaniel Tucker) in rich county at Malton in Yorkshire. Surprised that Tom Tudor Tucker, brother is at St. Eustatia. Congratulates him on child. Regrets fate of his brig. Asks if he has gotten bills for Adelphi renewed. If so, forward them to Daniel Jennings at St. Eustatia. Father wants money before going to England. Uncertainty of conveyance discourages writing.

Dates: 1780 February 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

St. George Tucker, Williamsburg to Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker in Matoax (Favored by C. Digges Esqr), circa 1780 February 7

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227410
Scope and Contents

Impossible to reach Matoax by Monday. Hopes she can meet him at Brandon. Mentions Dick, Theo, and Johnny Randolph. Also Madge, the Pats and St. George. Asks if she has received shoes from Mr. Shore.

Dates: circa 1780 February 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Soloman Wilson, Smithfield to St. George Tucker, Matoax, 1780 February 10

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227414
Scope and Contents

By Captain Gray I have shipped you the sugar. I promised you a cask of wine, but it is impossible.  The playing cards I sold to Mr. James Rose of Petersburg. Tell Captain Sargeant that Mr. Brown had disposed of all the white cloth before I came down, but I will reserve the blue for him.

Dates: 1780 February 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Beverley Randolph to John Osborne, 1780 February 12

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227415
Scope and Contents

Deliver to St. George Tucker two thousand and sixty-five pounds of tobacco.

Dates: 1780 February 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Anne (Butterfield) Tucker, Bermuda to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, circa 1780 February 18

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227417
Scope and Contents

Mrs. Smith received a letter from her daughter Coletart, who said you had a son. We have received pleasing accounts of your Papa. I am now in St. George's.  There is a very severe fever raging here, people are dying and some within 48 hours.  I had a letter from Thomas Tudor Tucker and he was in the West Indies.

Dates: circa 1780 February 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Henry Tucker (1743-1808), St. George's, Bermuda to St. George Tucker, 1780 February 18

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 1
Identifier: id227427
Scope and Contents Natty (Nathaniel Tucker) pleased with prospects at Malton. Regrets brother (Thomas Tudor Tucker) relinquished profession. Taxier ? can not collect insurance of 80,000 livres on Sally Van as underwriters want proof of interest and capture. Asks him to send proof. Also to send certificate that Adelphi made no voyage after arrival in Virginia. It was insured in Holland for trip to France and company wants proof it was sold. Mentions children: promising Hal and George Dutchman Tom, Amazan Nan,...
Dates: 1780 February 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Anne Tucker (Mother) to St. George Tucker, 1780 March 2

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Trying to send letter by Durham Hall who is bound for South Carolina. Let the two sons know their friends in Bermuda are very anxious about them. Her husband has arrived back in Bermuda. Sister Fanny had a daughter. Fever raging in town and country. Such a severe winter was never known in Bermuda before.

Dates: 1780 March 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Henry Tucker (1743-1808), St. George's, Bermuda to St. George Tucker, 1780 March 3

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227447
Scope and Contents Durham Hall goes to Charleston. Mr. Taxier insured Sally Van for 80,000 livres, but could recover nothing for lack of proof of interest and capture. Asks him to send proofs to Kirkwood. Also that Adelphi made no voyage after arrival in Virginia. Adelphi insured in Holland for trip to France. Will not refund money without proof it was sold. Daniel Jennings will foward letters. Wants money for Bize's protested bill to settle English affairs. Sister (Frances (Tucker) Tucker) is in the straw....
Dates: 1780 March 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Robert Innes, Rosewell to St. George Tucker, Matoax, 1780 March 4

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227449
Scope and Contents

The day after you left us, Griffin and I went to Richmond and the next day I got to Williamsburg, but I have never passed over such rough roads. I am now determined to keep a batchelor's house. Mrs. Page has had a fine boy since my return.

Dates: 1780 March 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

William Claiborne, Fleets to St. George Tucker, Matoax, 1780 March 6

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227451
Scope and Contents

I must send a vessel from Petersburg tomorrow loaded with tobacco or pay considerable damages. I have fallen short 18 hogsheads. Please lend me that quantity of last years crop.

Dates: 1780 March 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Theodorick Bland (1742-1790), Cawsons, Prince George county, Virginia to Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker, 1780 March 7

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227453
Scope and Contents

Informs her that father (Theodorick Bland, Sr is better. Nancy's information was wrong. Father sends his blessing.

Dates: 1780 March 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Thomas Britinann, Williamsburg to St. George Tucker, 1780 March 9

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227455
Scope and Contents

Explanation of the lottery scheme. Please have my Negroes removed from Mr. Walton's to one of your plantations. Then they would be at hand, if a chance should come to turn them into something of real value in the West Indies.

Dates: 1780 March 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

John Page (1743-1808), Rosewell, Gloucester county, Virginia to St. George Tucker of Matoax, near Petersburg by Post, 1780 March 10

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227456
Scope and Contents

Board thought Tucker's request reasonable, but thought permit would be inconsistent with proclamation they had advised for laying the embargo. Knew of no way of sending Tucker's presents than by favor of comptr? under denomination of stores.

Dates: 1780 March 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Thomas Tudor Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to St. George Tucker, Matoax, near Petersburg, Virginia, 1780 March 22

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227459
Scope and Contents Land forces of enemy chiefly on James Island. Batteries there and on south side of Ashley River. Men of war within bar. Their numbers and guns. Also galleys. 6,000 or 7,000 strength by land perhaps. Preparation for defense of town. militia backward in turning out. Works extensive. George Evans? is lieutenant in Continental service. Self appointed physician of Continental hospital. Requests securing proceeds of adventure with Captain Josiah Young against depreciation by purchasing what will...
Dates: 1780 March 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Anne (Butterfield) Tucker, Bermuda to Mrs. Frances (Bland) Tucker, circa 1780 March 28

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id227460
Scope and Contents

I have been informed you are blessed with a son. If there is anything I can get for you here, please let me know. I have just received St. George's letter.

Dates: circa 1780 March 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Anne Butterfield Tucker, to St. George Tucker, 1780 March 29

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

St. George's health. Glad to hear of birth of her namesake.

Dates: 1780 March 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Henry Tucker, Jr. to St. George Tucker, 1780 March 30

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Father and Natty (Nathaniel) are hearty. Want to settle finances in England. Sally Van and other vessels. Mother spending winter in town with them. "Kiss your young Indian for us all."

Dates: 1780 March 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 2: Correspondence

Robert Smith, Petersburg, to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, 1780 April 5

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 3
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Messrs Ross Shore & Coy will settle with you the Balance of the Twenty Eight Thousand weight of Tobacco for the Cannon bought from Capt Sargeant."

Dates: 1780 April 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 3: Correspondence