Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 184 Results:

William Maury to his brother, James Maury, 1788 August 25

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 4
Identifier: id76085
Scope and Contents

Announces Captain Sowerbey is waiting; sends papers to James; Polly sent a rough copy of a letter from William to James without William's knowledg; child is still very sick; requests garden seen if there is extra on the Middleton bill. 1 p. ALS

Dates: 1788 August 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Matthew Maury Junior, Burlington, to his brother James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1790 June 7

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 5
Identifier: id76089
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Thanks him for his assistance in getting settled in Burlington; hopes to support his family there; received James's "favour" of December 28, agrees to let him decide what to do for James [his son?]; details his previous plans for James; asks his brother to send news of his "D[ea]r Boy"; the family sends love. 2 pp. ALS

Dates: 1790 June 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Stevens Thomson Mason, Dumfries, Virginia to (James Maury), Liverpool, England, 1794 August

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 7
Identifier: id76095
Scope and Contents Asks again if Armistead's slaves should be divided; asks if he or his wife have a special prefernce for any of the slaves; some of the women of the family are worried that when Maury's part of the slaves are sold, the slave families would be broken up; hopes that Maury will come back to Virginia to visit; hopes that Maury will make an effort to correspond; descibes the problems in Pa. over excise taxes; expresses his belief that the United States will be forced into war with England over the...
Dates: 1794 August
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Mary Armistead, Raspberry Plain, Virginia to her son-in-law, James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1795 October 22

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 8
Identifier: id76097
Scope and Contents Is happy he is well; was not informed after her daughter's death because she [MA] was in poor health; apologizes for not having written; was unable to bury her daughter according to her wished because she [MA] was in London for the winter; plans to carry out her daughter's wishes as soon as possible; family is now established at Raspberry plain;hopes to bury members of her family nearby; the tombstone has arrived in Fredricksburg; hopes that he will continue to inform her of his welfare. 2...
Dates: 1795 October 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Lewis, to his brother-in-law, James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1796 February 2

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 11
Identifier: id76294
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsArmistead's estate has finally been divided; could not attend because of his wife's illness and his brother's death; F[ontaine Maury] undertook to distribute the estate; Miss B[etsy] Armistead wants to keep a certain family of slaves, slowing the process down; Mrs. Armistead also wants to keep certain slaves; will let her do so if conveinent; four slaves sold t o Gen[eral] Mason; Fontaine Maury purchased the rest; will inform him [JM[ when all business has been...
Dates: 1796 February 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Mary Claiborne, Virginia, to her nephew James Maury, Liverpool, England

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 12
Identifier: id76295
Scope and Contents

Thanks him for his present; is sorry that the climates does not agree with his health; details of her children's marriages; explains her condition sice her husband's death; is taking care of her Betsy's children since she died and her father's family  have deserted them; greetings from the family. 1 p. ALS

Dates: 1783-1800's
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Maury, Liverpool, England to MArgaret Rutson, Sedgwick House, Kendal, England

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 13
Identifier: id76296
Scope and Contents

Is happy she is happy; he trusts her decision on the wedding cake; feels that the should have been married already thought about the wedding day; will not stay away from home longer than the 25th; will dine with her brother tonight. 3pp. ALS Including T's of ALS, 1p.

Dates: 1783-1800's
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Maury, Liverpool England, to His Excellency Rufus King, London, England, 1796 November 26

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 14
Identifier: id76297
Scope and Contents

Refers to his [JM] letter of the 23rd; if he [RK] feels the issuing of the protections are not proper, tell Lord Grenville that Mr. Pinckney recommends them; is trying not to offend the British goverment. 1p. ALS Including T's of ALS. 1p

Dates: 1796 November 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Duke of Norfolk, Liverpool, England to James Maury, Liverpool, England, circa 1797

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 15
Identifier: id76298
Scope and Contents

Wishes to see him, as he is in Liverpool; is afraid he did  not receive his message; will have to leave by nine and feels that would be too early for a personal visit. 1p. L Including T's of L, 1p.

Dates: circa 1797
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epsom, England, to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1797 June 14

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 16
Identifier: id76299
Scope and Contents Will give him a brief outline of his major work; he thinks that lost aspects of the English language are preserved in provincial dialects; intends to stdy these dialects and trace the development of vocabulary; does not know if he will be able to complete the work in his lifetime; recently he has been collecting some of his sermons which were given in America for a book; the sermons relate to the American Revolution; intend to dedicate the book to Gen[era]l [George] Washington; hopes the...
Dates: 1797 June 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Agatha [?] Rutson, Sedgwick House, Kendal, England, to her sister, Margaret Maury, Liverpool, England., 1797 August 1

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 17
Identifier: id76300
Scope and Contents

N[ancy] is not well enough to write; N[ancy]'s use of her wheelchair; N[ancy] has moved to a new room; methods used for easing N[ancy]'s pain; her aunt asked Mr. L. if there was someone in a similar situation for N[ancy] to talk to; all are thinking of Margaret and hope all goes well with the delivery of her child; the thunderstorms of the past few days; Nell [?] is in a nervous state again and fainted in the garden; sale of their calf; sends love to the family. 3pp.ALS

Dates: 1797 August 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Duke of Norfolk, Greystone Castle, England, to James Maury, 1797 August 21

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 18
Identifier: id76301
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Is sending venison by the day's coach; invites him and Mrs. Maury to his house in September. 1p. ALS Bears Ts of L from Duke of Norfolk, Liverpool, England, to James Maury, [iverpool, england], [ca. 1797]. 1 p. Including Ts of ALS. 1p

Dates: 1797 August 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epsom, England, to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1797 November 1

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 19
Identifier: id76302
Scope and Contents His book is finished; will send him nine copies, one to keep and eight to distribute including one for Geo[rge] Washington, Esq[ui]r[e]; hopes he will read the bok and recommend it to his countrymen; believes that England and America will not be happy unless they recommend it to his countrymen; believes that England and America will not be happy unless they are reunited to some extent; yuong Dangerfield came to visit him; enjoyed the visit and would like him to come back; fears that peace is...
Dates: 1797 November 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epsom, England, to Jimmy (James Maury), Liverpool, England, 1798 February 7

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 20
Identifier: id76303
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsIs "mortified" that he did not like his book; was wrong in assuming he would be able to read it as anything but a tobacco merchant; disagrees that [General] Washington will take offense at the introduction of the book; does not feel that he spoke harshly of America or Americans; did condemn the rebellion because he would have been untrue to his feelings if he had not done so; does not think that all Americans will agree with him [JM]; feels that Americans...
Dates: 1798 February 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epson, England, to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1797 February 17

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 21
Identifier: id76470
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsReceived a letter from the former President of the United States of America [George Washington] thankig hom for the dedication of his book; assumes that this means he was not offended by it; has heard from other Americans that they liked the book; most people [in Europe?]  feel that the Northern states are the "best Principled and most loyal"; Virginia is regarded as the least loyal; feels he reacted to his book as a Virginian; everyone should "unite to oppose...
Dates: 1797 February 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Maury, London, England, to his wife, Margaret Maury, Rodney Street, Liverpool, England, 1799 April 27

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 22
Identifier: id76475
Scope and Contents

Never received her aunt's address; cannot call on her because she is leaving in a short while; hopes to return home by Monday. 1 p. ALS

Dates: 1799 April 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epsom, England, to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1799 May 30

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 23
Identifier: id76488
Scope and Contents Asks if he wrote to him previously about securing a passage for Capt[ai]n Addison and his wife to Annapolis or Baltimore; feels that he must have not have done so, as he has received no reply about the matter; asks if he knows of any ships leaving from Liverpool ot Whitehaven that would serve this purpose; has heard that there are many parties and factions in America; is upset by the low opinion people have about Virginia; received a litter rfom Mr. Cave Jones of Accomack; a clergyman who...
Dates: 1799 May 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Jonathan Boucher, Epsom, England, to his sister, Elizabeth Lewis, near Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1800 November 12

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 24
Identifier: id76492
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsThanks her for his last letter; she and the rest of his family are in his thoughts, is obliged to Mr. Anderson for visiting his [JM] relatives for him; is pleased to hear about his nephew William; suspects that their brother Fontaine's wife has died; although the letter he received from him does not directly say so; is troubled by news that their brother Matthew is in "a very dangerous way", a third son was born on September 29th, named him Matthew; family sends...
Dates: 1800 November 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Rufus King, Leatherhead, Surrey, England ? to James Maury, 1802 July 8

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 25
Identifier: id76506
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsSends a letter with enclosures [not present] from customs officials in New York; wants him to find out whether Mr. Woodham owns the shipd referred to; if not, wants him to find out whether Mes[seu]rs Anderson & Child or other foreigners own them. 1p. ALS Including Df from (James Maury), to [Rufus King], 15, December 1802. Has not been able to discover anyhing about the affair; Anderson had told him that people were suspicious of Woodham and said that he [W]...
Dates: 1802 July 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Elizabeth Boucher, Epsom, England to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1804 October 2

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 26
Identifier: id76533
Scope and Contents thanks him for the letter he sent regarding her husband's death; was very touched by the letter; her oldest son is not yet old enough to have decided on a profession, but she will keep his offer of a position in the mercantile profession in mind; Mr. Boucher has been teaching again the last years of his life, in order to provide his sons with a good education; his assistant is now taking over his pupils; she intends her youngest son to have a career in the church; the rest of her children...
Dates: 1804 October 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Elizabeth Boucher, Epsom, England, to James Maury, Liverpool, England, 1806 February 11

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 27
Identifier: id76540
Scope and Contents The first letter of her husband's glossary will be printed; hopes this will bring the work to the attention of the public and that someone will want to complete it; wanted to send him a portrait of her husband; will send it with her son, who wants to join him inhis counting house; hopes that her son will be able to stay with the Maurys as well so that he will not have to live in the city alone; her son will leave school midsummer; asks when he would be able to receive him; sends regards to...
Dates: 1806 February 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Maury, Liverpool, England to his sister, Elizabeth Lewis, near Fredricksburg, Virginia, 1808 October 27

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 28
Identifier: id76551
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Their brother's [Matthew Maury] recent death; is pleased that Nancy and Milton are going to live with her; saw Lieutenant Lewis is in London and wished he could have spent more time with him; annual trip to Buxton England; took son Matthew along and his behavior is much improved; bought a Shetland pony to teach the boys to ride; sends regards. 2pp. ALS Including T's of ALS.

Dates: 1808 October 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

James Maury, Liverpool, England, to John Littledale, Esquire, Whitehaven, England, 1809 September 27

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 29
Identifier: id76556
Scope and Contents

Sends a notice [ not present] which is to be published twice a newpaper in Whitehaven. 1p. LS

Dates: 1809 September 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

M. Bold, to Margaret Maury, Centre Hotel, Buxton, England, 1809 November 10

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 30
Identifier: id77047
Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsAll is well despite the poor weather; hopes to hear that she is doing well; Ashurst is staying with them and is still not in good health; apples are in good shape. 2pp. ALS Including AN, on address leaf. Recipe Including ALS from William Maury, Sea View to his "Papa", JAmes Maury Centre Hotel, Buxton, England 9 November 1809. Hopes he is better; requests a knife; fireworks to celebrate November fifth;asks him to tell his brother James that they have begun...
Dates: 1809 November 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1

Margaret Maury, Liverpool, England to her son, Master William Maury, Sea View, 1810 February 5

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 31
Identifier: id77049
Scope and Contents

Birthday wishes; sending presents to be shared with his brother Matthew; family news; she and her son have reserved seats on the York Mail for Tuesday. 1p. ALS

Dates: 1810 February 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Maury Family papers / Series 1: Maury Family Correspondence and Papers / Box 1