Skip to main content

Box 8

 Container

Contains 125 Results:

John Ewing, Wheeling, West Virginia, to Archibald Woods, 1814 May 17

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 864
Identifier: id163084
Scope and Contents

Applies for arrest of Archibald Hamilton on charges he received twenty dollars from James Burrus who was applying for exemption from service. Includes affidavit, undated, of Samuel McClure.

Dates: 1814 May 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Proxy (witnessed by Ju? R. Munzon) from George Paull to Archibald Woods, 1814 May 21

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 865
Identifier: id163085
Scope and Contents

To vote for directions in the Ohio Company.

Dates: 1814 May 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Arrest warrant for Archibald Hamilton signed by James H. Relfe?, 1814 May 21

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 866
Identifier: id163086
Scope and Contents

Includes copy of charges against Hamilton.

Dates: 1814 May 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Franklin Woods, Detroit, Mich., to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1814 May 28

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 867
Identifier: id163087
Scope and Contents

Few soldiers left in Regiment. Mentions consolidations and possibility of Paull and himself being extra officers and struck off. 27th Regiment has been disgraced. Cannot get clothes. "if any officer appears on parade without blue pantaloons and boots he is immediately arrested."

Dates: 1814 May 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Ralph Smith to Archibald Woods, 1814 June 3

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 868
Identifier: id163088
Scope and Contents

Wants to buy land from Woods.

Dates: 1814 June 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Stephen R. Wilson to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1814 June 24

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 869
Identifier: id163089
Scope and Contents

Mr. Chapline can inform about the discoveries about property lines. Will expect sheep and probably will take some half breed merino.

Dates: 1814 June 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Appointment of William Fans as captain in the fourth regiment, tenth brigade and third division of Virginia Militia. Signed by Linah Mims, lieutenant-governor and J. H. Pleasants. Bears seal of Virginia., 1814 June 27

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 870
Identifier: id163091
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates: 1814 June 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Archibald Woods,Wheeling, West Virginia to William Poage, near Staunton, Virginia, 1814 June 27

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 871
Identifier: id163092
Scope and Contents

Mrs. Woods had twins, one of whom died within 5 days. Expects Indian treaty. " I do not know but it will be my turn to go to Norfolk in the next call or requision of militia."

Dates: 1814 June 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia to Charles Hammond, Belmont County, Ohio, 1814 August 11

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 872
Identifier: id163093
Scope and Contents

Concerning sale of Sharpless house.

Dates: 1814 August 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Archibald Woods to John Connill Connell, Commandant of the 10th Brigade, Brooke County, West Virginia, 1814 August 19

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 873
Identifier: id163094
Scope and Contents

Discussing uniforms.

Dates: 1814 August 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Garrison Jones to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1814 August 23

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 874
Identifier: id163095
Scope and Contents

Trying to sell Woods a horse.

Dates: 1814 August 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Asher Jones to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1814 August 25

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 875
Identifier: id163096
Scope and Contents

Concerns William Baker who denies endorsing Jones' note; and salt.

Dates: 1814 August 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Asher Jones to Archibald Woods, 1814 September 11

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 876
Identifier: id163097
Scope and Contents

Trying to settle debt.

Dates: 1814 September 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

George Paull, Zanesville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1814 September 8

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 877
Identifier: id163098
Scope and Contents

Will send Woods his horse if cannot find a better one at fair price.

Dates: 1814 September 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

George Paull, Zanesville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1814 September 8

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 877A
Identifier: id163099
Scope and Contents

Sending Woods his horse. Will send epaulets.

Dates: 1814 September 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

John Connell, Commanding 10th Brigade Virginia Militia, to Archibald Woods, 4th Reg't, Virginia Militia Ohio County, West Virginia, 1814 September 10

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 878
Identifier: id163100
Scope and Contents

Orders Woods to a muster.

Dates: 1814 September 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Archibald Woods to George Paull, Zanesville, Ohio, 1814 September 16

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 879
Identifier: id163101
Scope and Contents

Sold sorrell horse. Has got no marching orders yet. Petitions being circulated concerning location of County seat of Monroe County, Ohio.

Dates: 1814 September 16
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Promissory note (witnessed by Thomas Wells) of Thomas ? with Archibald Woods, 1814 September 19

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 880
Identifier: id163102
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates: 1814 September 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Memorandum of an agreement (witnessed by B. Fawcett) made between John Fawcett and Archibald Woods, 1814 September 27

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 881
Identifier: id163103
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents For Fawcett acting as attorney for Samuel Cope to sell a house and lot in Wheeling, West Virginia to Woods.

Dates: 1814 September 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Bond for title from Benjamin Farquher of Clinton County, Ohio and Josiah Updegroff of Ohio County, West Virginia to Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia, 1814 September 30

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 882
Identifier: id163104
Scope and Contents

For a house and lot in Wheeling.

Dates: 1814 September 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Robert Woods to Archibald Woods, 1814 October 9

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 883
Identifier: id163105
Scope and Contents

Sends what he thinks register's fees are.

Dates: 1814 October 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Archibald Woods to William Irwin, Richmond, Virginia, 1814 October 10

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 884
Identifier: id163106
Scope and Contents

Sends a petition concerning militia fines. Expects lawsuit.

Dates: 1814 October 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

The Librarian, Wheeling, West Virginia Library Room to Archibald Woods, 1814 November

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 885
Identifier: id163107
Scope and Contents

Gives hours. Fines will be strictly enforced. All funds on hand will go to purchase books. Arrears on shares must be paid.

Dates: 1814 November
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

John S., Baltimore, Md., to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1814 December 27

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 886
Identifier: id163109
Scope and Contents

Does not have any desire to sell land he owns in Ohio County.

Dates: 1814 December 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8

Agreement (witnessed by Franklin Woods) between Daniel Steenrod and Archibald Woods both of Ohio County, West Virginia, 1814 December 29

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 887
Identifier: id163110
Scope and Contents

for Woods to lease land to Steenrod.

Dates: 1814 December 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 8