Box 8
Container
Contains 125 Results:
George Paull, in Camp at Delaware, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 July 11
File — Box: 8, Folder: 791
Identifier: id162984
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Making arrangements to sell property to William Sharpless in event he does not return from war. Intends to go into mercantile business. Have drawn clothing for 27th Regiment and tomorrow start for upper Sandusky and the Lower Sandusky.
Dates:
1813 July 11
Power of attorney (witnessed by William Gill and James Shannon) from George Paull to John Patterson to execute a deed to William Sharpless, 1813 July 12
File — Box: 8, Folder: 792
Identifier: id162985
Scope and Contents
Includes affidavit of Josiah M. Smith.
Dates:
1813 July 12
Noah Linsly to Archibald Woods asking Woods to inspect the construction of a road, 1813 July 15
File — Box: 8, Folder: 793
Identifier: id162986
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1813 July 15
George Paull, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 July 20
File — Box: 8, Folder: 794
Identifier: id162987
Scope and Contents
Troops are getting ready to march.
Dates:
1813 July 20
John Davis, Morgantown, West Virginia, to Archibald Woods, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1813 July 20
File — Box: 8, Folder: 795
Identifier: id162988
Scope and Contents
Describes difficulties in provisioning troops.
Dates:
1813 July 20
Benjamin Ruggles, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 July 23
File — Box: 8, Folder: 796
Identifier: id162989
Scope and Contents
Woods' letter apparently miscarried. Must prepare for a campaign in September.
Dates:
1813 July 23
A. Hamilton to Archibald Woods, 1813 July 24
File — Box: 8, Folder: 797
Identifier: id162990
Scope and Contents
Concerns payments for barrels of flour?.
Dates:
1813 July 24
Lt. James Ewing to Archibald Woods, Lieutenant Colonel Commandant, 4th Regiment, Virginia Militia., undated
File — Box: 8, Folder: 797A
Identifier: id162991
Scope and Contents
Lists repairs (and cost) to muskets and certifies that Adam Keller did the work.
Dates:
undated
J. Caldwell, Wheeling, West Virginia, to Archibald Woods, 1813 July 29
File — Box: 8, Folder: 798
Identifier: id162992
Scope and Contents
Settling of accounts.
Dates:
1813 July 29
James Paull, Jr. to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 August 1
File — Box: 8, Folder: 799
Identifier: id162993
Scope and Contents
Trying to locate Betsy and arrange for her to be sent home.
Dates:
1813 August 1
D. McClure to Archibald Woods, 1813 August 3
File — Box: 8, Folder: 800
Identifier: id162995
Scope and Contents
Asks Woods to make a survey.
Dates:
1813 August 3
Benjamin Biggs, Brigadier General, 10th Brigade, Virginia Militia, to Archibald Woods, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1813 August 11
File — Box: 8, Folder: 801
Identifier: id162996
Scope and Contents
Orders Woods to order troops for muster.
Dates:
1813 August 11
George Paull, Lower Seneca Town, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 August 12
File — Box: 8, Folder: 802
Identifier: id163000
Scope and Contents
Concerns selling a house and lot to Sharpless.
Dates:
1813 August 12
George Paull, Lower Seneca Town, ?, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 August 14
File — Box: 8, Folder: 803
Identifier: id163001
Scope and Contents
Thinks Woods' son, Franklin, can get an appointment in militia. Thinks serving will be good for him.
Dates:
1813 August 14
Benjamin Ruggles, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 September 3
File — Box: 8, Folder: 804
Identifier: id163002
Scope and Contents
Concerns sale of house and land to a Mr. Mallory.
Dates:
1813 September 3
George Paull, Camp Lower Seneca Town, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 September 7
File — Box: 8, Folder: 805
Identifier: id163004
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Franklin Woods arrives. Gen. William Henry Harrison appointed him a third lieutenant. Paull gives his philosophy about serving in the army. Gives instructions about selling house and lot to Sharpless.
Dates:
1813 September 7
Thomas Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 September 8
File — Box: 8, Folder: 806
Identifier: id163005
Scope and Contents
Sorry to hear of ill health of Mrs. Paull. Surprised to hear that Franklin had enlisted. Discusses war. "This war of glory or glorious war-which appears to be attended with every calamity defeat and disaster that ever in any shape befell any country ancient or modern-how is it? Are nations punished in proportion to their demerits?...I never once for a moment supposed that the contemptible province of Upper Canada peopled by semibarbarians could have held the United States at bay for more...
Dates:
1813 September 8
John Brady, Lieut. to Col. Archibald Woods, 1813 September 13
File — Box: 8, Folder: 807
Identifier: id163006
Scope and Contents
Sends forty-one guns and thirty six cartridge boxes.
Dates:
1813 September 13
Charges sent to Colonel John Connell, Commandant, 103 Regiment Virginia Militia, against Richard Roberts of David Pugh's Volunteer Rifle company attached to the 103d Regiment Virginia Militia, 1813 September 14
File — Box: 8, Folder: 808
Identifier: id163007
Scope and Contents
Charges that Roberts tried to avoid danger withdrew himself from Tyamochta and allowed the baggage of his company to be lost; let tobacco, coffee and chocolate be traded for sale and let other baggage be left and lost; said men did not have to serve past 22nd of March; and used threatening language to a captain. Signed by David Pugh.
Dates:
1813 September 14
Archibald Woods to Noah Linsley, Charleston, West Virginia, 1813 September 15
File — Box: 8, Folder: 809
Identifier: id163008
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Wants Linsley to try to settle an agreement made with ? Ross.
Dates:
1813 September 15
George Paull, on the lake of Carrying?, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1813 April 15
File — Box: 8, Folder: 810
Identifier: id163010
Scope and Contents
Mentions Oliver Hazard Perry's naval victory on Lake Erie.
Dates:
1813 April 15
Benjamin Ruggles, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Woodsfield, Monroe County, Ohio, 1813 September 21
File — Box: 8, Folder: 811
Identifier: id163011
Scope and Contents
Asks Woods aid in helping a Mr. Dear enter land.
Dates:
1813 September 21
Agreement (witnessed by Issac Barrett) between Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia and John Barrett of Belmont County, Ohio for Woods to sell land to Barrett, 1813 September 28
File — Box: 8, Folder: 812
Identifier: id163012
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1813 September 28
Promissory note (witnessed by James Mays) of John Cunningham and Robert Paull to Samuel Robinson, 1813 September 28
File — Box: 8, Folder: 813
Identifier: id163013
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1813 September 28
Warrant issued to arrest Lt. Richard Roberts on order of Colonel John Connell, 103rd Regiment, Virginia Militia on charges brought by Capt. David Pugh., 1813 September 28
File — Box: 8, Folder: 814
Identifier: id163015
Scope and Contents
Signed by B. D. adjutant.
Dates:
1813 September 28