Found 112 Results | Special Collections Research Center

Box 2

File — Box: 2

Identifier: id215367

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...

Dates: 1818-1955

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts

William F. Willoughby's letters from Europe to his mother, Jennie R[ebecca] Woodbury Willoughby, to his brother, Westel Woodbury Willoughby, and to his sister, Alice Estella Willoughby, while on an investigating trip for the Department of Labor, 1891 May 27 - 1891 July 27

File — Box: 2, Folder: 1

Identifier: id148738

Scope and Contents

Letter written from and describing "City of Paris (ship)," and England (Bradford, Leeds, London, Manchester, and Matlock Bath). 19 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1891 May 27 - 1891 July 27

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Department of Labor, Washington and Buffalo, New York to [Charles?] Hine, 1892-1897

File — Box: 2, Folder: 2

Identifier: id148743

Scope and Contents

Johns Hopkins graduates attending meeting of American Historical Association and his regret at being unable to attend. Discussion of handling unemployment in Cincinnati. Thank you and description of honeymoon trip. 3 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1892-1897

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Department of Labor, to his brother Westel, 1895 March 9 - July 6

File — Box: 2, Folder: 3

Identifier: id148744

Scope and Contents

His work and projects he is working on at home; reading German with [?] Weber; father returning from Richmond where he tried Storyman case; Katy Hine spent two days; H.C. Adams; disappointment at Westel leaving Stanford over wife's health; [Herbert Baxter?] Adams; purchase of clothes; marriage plans; and proposal to write books on workingman's insurance. 9 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1895 March 9 - July 6

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Sheffield, England and Washington, D.C. to wife Bess [Bessie Talbot (Appleby) Willoughby], 1897 November 29 - 1899 June 22

File — Box: 2, Folder: 4

Identifier: id148745

Scope and Contents

9 autographed letters signed.

Dates: 1897 November 29 - 1899 June 22

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, on S.S. Rotterdam, and in Paris, France, Vienna, Austria, Berlin, Germany, Brussels, Belgium, Liege, Belgium, London, England and on S.S. Furnesia written to family concerning investigations for the Department of Labor and as a juror for the Paris Exposition of 1900, 1900 May 12 - 1900 September 15

File — Box: 2, Folder: 5

Identifier: id148746

Scope and Contents

Mentions Emile Levasseur, Jane Addams, McCormick family of Chicago. 50 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1900 May 12 - 1900 September 15

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Cambridge, Massachussetts, to mother [Jennie Rebecca (Woodbury) Willoughby] and brother Westel Woodbury Willoughby, 1901 February 14 - May 1

File — Box: 2, Folder: 6

Identifier: id148749

Scope and Contents

Giving lectures at Harvard and Radcliffe in economics. Concerns Frank William Taussig. Includes letter of [Jennie Rebecca (Woodbury) Willoughby] to Westel Woodbury Willoughby. 9 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1901 February 14 - May 1

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Department of Labor, Washington, [D.C.] to wife [Bessie Talbot (Appleby) Willoughby], 1901 June 30 - August 29

File — Box: 2, Folder: 7

Identifier: id148752

Scope and Contents

Mentions death of [Herbert Baxter] Adams. 20 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1901 June 30 - August 29

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Puerto Rico, to his wife [Bessie Talbot (Appleby) Willoughby], 1902 August 12 - September 9

File — Box: 2, Folder: 8

Identifier: id148754

Scope and Contents

Describes his social life while serving as Treasurer of Puerto Rico. Has ordered investigation of financial affairs of San Juan. 3 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1902 August 12 - September 9

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Puerto Rico and New York, to his wife [Bessie Talbot (Appleby) Willoughby], 1903 January 9 - December 29

File — Box: 2, Folder: 9

Identifier: id148759

Scope and Contents

Describes his social life while serving as Treasurer of Puerto Rico. Concerns [?] Elliot, [?] Garrison, [?] Cruzen, William H. Hunt, Regis H. Post, [?] Sweet, Republican Party. 15 autograph letters signed.

Dates: 1903 January 9 - December 29

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William F. Willoughby Papers / Series 1: Notes, Letters, Photographs, and Manuscripts / Box 2

William F. Willoughby letters, Puerto Rico and New York, while serving as Treasurer of Puerto Rico to his wife Bess [Bessie Talbot (Appleby) Willoughby] and daughter Barbara [Willoughby], 1904 January 1 - April 12

File — Box: 2, Folder: 10

Identifier: id148765

Scope and Contents

Concerns social life and Americans governing Puerto Rico, [?] Bird, criticism of General Elliott's department; description of Judge [?] Sweet; shipping of Puerto Rican coffee, his opinions on Russo-Japanese War, problems with legislature of Puerto Rico, [?] Hartzell, application for Commissioner of Labor, entertaining Dr. [?] Day and railroad plan for [?] Vandergrift. 13 autograph letters signed (one incomplete)

Dates: 1904 January 1 - April 12