Scope and Contents 21 June 1856.  Henry A. Wise, Richmond, Va., to George Booker, n.p. Concerning the Presidential election of 1856.  1 p.21 April 1857.  Henry A. Wise, Washington, [D.C.], to W[illia]m H. D. C. Wright, n.p.  Has appealed to President James Buchanan on behalf of [Henry] May, who seems to be leaning toward [Hugh] Buchanan [for a political appointment],- suggests that May stand firm, and if not selected, "acquiesce with grace"; himself nor his family not well; is "disgusted with Washington," and...

Scope and Contents

Letter from "Jennie" (Catherine Virginia Winfree), Lynchburg, Virginia to "Sister Jane" (Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown). Concerns the coming of the Civil War and economic depression saying "there are a great many Negroes out of employment and much suffering among the poor."

Scope and Contents

J. Thompson Brown, Yorktown, Virginia, to wife (Mary Martha (Southall) Brown). He has heard that Magruder has mentioned him in his dispatches; had a report of a fight at Manassas Junction and the enemy were "whipped with heavy loss"; hopes he will be sent there; "if God continues his blessings on our cause we may soon hope for peace and then we can be together again."

Scope and Contents Letter from J.H.B. Jenkins, Cumberland Landing on Pamunkey River, 12 Miles from West Point, Virginia, to Mary Benjamin, Smyrna, Delaware. Jenkins provides a Union soldier's (serving in the 40th New York regiment) description of the Battle of Williamsburg including sketches of the Federal battle position near Fort Magruder; the ineffectiveness of Austrian rifles; a drawing of wagons used by the Confederate army; a description of Jamestown; the promotion of Philip Kearny; and the arrest of...

Scope and Contents

Letter from A.S. Heath, U.S. Steamer Daylight off Newport News, Virginia, to his wife.

Scope and Contents

Letter from H.H. Riddleberger, Washington, D.C., to Ben W. Austin. Thanks Austin for honorary membership in the Northwestern Literary and Historical Society and gives his opinion of the importance of these societies in education.

Scope and Contents

Letter from A.B. Tuttle, Camp of the 142nd, New York, Regiment near the [Mine?] Road between Richmond and Williamsburg, Virginia, to "Dear Sister." Union soldier's account of local military movements near Richardson's Mills (James City County, Virginia); bushwhackers, foraging and prices.

Scope and Contents

Charles T. O'Ferrall, Washington, D.C. to A.S. Garnett, Lloyds, Essex County, Virginia. Sends copy of speech on education made by O'Ferrall in House of Representatives.

Scope and Contents Letter from "Jennie" (Virginia A. Brown Winfree), Lynchburg, Virginia, to "my dear aunt" (Jane Margaret Winfree Brown). Concerns evacuation of Hampton, Virginia; C.V. Winfree will go into camp next week; soldiers at Manassas Gap ready to fight; and ladies are sewing for soldiers. Includes letter of C.V. Winfree to "Sister" Jane, i.e., Jane Margaret Winfree Brown. Thinks it doubtful troops will muster in because some leading men have "deserted" cause; and discusses exposure of the...

Scope and Contents

Letter from John Willcox Brown, Marine Hospital, Norfolk, Virginia, to sister "Fanny" (sister-in-law, Frances Bland Coalter Brown). Concerns his service in 4th Battalion of Volunteers stationed near Norfolk to defend a powder magazine. Mentions John Thompson Brown. Asks her to tell Henry Peronneau Brown not to "think of joining any company."

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...

Scope and Contents

Letter from J. Thompson Brown, Yorktown, Virginia, to wife, Mary Martha (Southall) Brown. Contains a description of the Battle of Big Bethel. Brown served in the Richmond Howitzers.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters written during World War I by Captain Verner Gaggin, a doctor who served at Camp Oglethorpe, Georgia, to his wife Nell in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Topics discussed include day-to-day hospital proceedings and the impact of the Influenza epidemic of 1918.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of a letter written by Lord George Hastings (later the Earl of Huntingdon) addressed to an unnamed Lord, offering congratulations on the honor with which the King had awarded his service, and asking for a recommendation to the King. The letter was written in Vienna, Austria. Also included are two pages of research from the donor, including evidence that the recipient of the letter was Arnold van Keppel, Earl of Albemarle.

Scope and Contents "The American Citizen," an address delivered by Hon. D. W. Voorhees of Indiana before the Literary Societies of the University of Virginia (1860 July 4)"Compulsion Makes Hypocrites, Not Converts Says Judge G. L. Christian, Jurist Defends Position and Tells Why He Opposes Prohibition" (1914 Aug. 3)"The Issues Involved in Statewide Prohibition" speech delivered by Royal E. Cabell (1914 May 14)"Facts for Consideration Relative to State-Wide Prohibition"...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Manuscript draft, dated October 30, 1864, written by Henry Ward Beecher comparing Abraham Lincoln to Wendell Phillips, being particularly praiseworthy of Phillips. Typescript included.

Scope and Contents 15 May 1821. Brownell & Taylor, Providence, [R.I.], to E. Augustus Russell, Merchant, Petersburg, Va. Sloop, Yankee, arrived on the 11th after a 56 hr. journey from Norfolk, [Va.]; the Captain and mate have gone home, but will be ready to set sail on Saturday or Sunday; will send molasses, sperm candles, and what he can get of brandy, cider brandy, and potatoes; there is no flour being sold because of news of peace in Europe, but before news of peace, sales were being made at 5...

Scope and Contents 12 August 1866. Fitzhugh Lee, Richland Mill, Stafford County Virginia, to Colonel M. M. Kimmel, Mexico. Discusses farming, politics, news of former Confederate officers. 1 Oct. 1867. Fitzhugh Lee, Garrisonville Post Office, Stafford County, Virginia, to Colonel M. M. Kimmel, Concerns Colonel Kimmel's fighting in Mexico, farming, and lady friends. 16 Nov. 1869. Fitzhugh Lee, Richland Mill, Stafford County, Virginia, to "Miss Maggie," Cryptic letter alluding to an unknown promise and a...

Scope and Contents 29 Oct. 1824. W.C. Rives, "Castle-Hill," [Albemarle Co., Va.], to "the Hon[ora]ble" Robert S. Garnett, L[l]oyds' [P.O.], Essex Co., Va. Declines the invitation to stay with him and Mrs. Garnett in Washington, D.C., because his wife has recently added a new son to "her" family; also comments that Washington, even under the most favorable conditions "affords but few pleasures for a lady" and that he [WCR] would deny his wife even a "peep at the 'great Babel'" because of the new baby;...

Scope and Contents Item 1: Dr. Augustine Smith, Yorktown, Va., to his future wife, Alice G. Page, Rosewell, July 2, 1791 Letter announces his love for Alice and his desire to marry her. He expresses concern that Alice might be unaware of his affections for her.  He further espresses his concern over his present state of finances but notes that his profession as a doctor will provide a lifestyle for her of comfort and elegance.Item 2: Dr. Augustine Smith, Yorktown, Va., to his future wife, Alice G....

Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1861-1864, from Edward R. Jones, Jr., private of Company "K," 95th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers (Colonel John M. Gosline's Pennsylvania Zouaves), to his mother, aunt and cousin, William Butt, Jr. Letters are written from Virginia, Washington, D.C. and southern Maryland and describe conditions in camp and on the battlefield and express his views on the Civil War, as well as family news. Includes description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and his [ERJ] part in the...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letters, 1861-1898, bulk, 1861-1864, of Edward R. Jones, Jr. of Co. K, 95th Pennsylvania Volunteers. (Col. John M. Gosline's Pennsylvania Zouaves) written to his mother, aunt, cousin, and William Butt, Jr. Letters were written from Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. and describe camp life and battle, express his views on the war, and discuss family affairs. Includes a description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and Jones' part at the Battle of Fredericksburg (1862). He also...

Scope and Contents Item 1: Robert Skipwith, Genito P.O., [Powhatan Co., Va.], to [Mrs. Annie C. Pratt, employee of Dr. Alexander Graham Bell, studying deafness as connected with education], February 21 or 22, 1900 Gives brief genealogical information about the Skipwith and Bolling families. 3 pp. Autographed letter signed. Item 2: Black and white photograph taken from an ambrotype, of Mary R. Bolling, deaf-mute daughter of Col. William Bolling, [20th century] 3 1/4" x 4 1/2" (Photo 1). 1 item. Photograph Item...