Scope and Contents This information has been provided by the seller and has not been verified: "Subjects in these letters include: references to Lt Fred Barnes of Cheltenham High School fighting at Metz, Walt Ely in jail, Mrs. Wortsall and Mrs. Williams in the Friends Home in Norristown. references to brother-in-law Al asking for sea shells to make a ring and a pin, the Kidette radio, Aunt Lizzie of Willow Grove, brother Hampton wrecking the car and going to the Abington Hospital, letters taking 24 days to...

Scope and Contents Kentucky documents: 14 October 1799. "Agreement between the commissioners of the states of Virginia and Kentucky relative to the boundary line between the said states." Signed by Arch Stuart, Jos. Martin, Creed Taylor, Jno. Coburn, Robt. Johnson, and B. Thruston. 4 pp. Cy of DS. 22 Dec[embe]r 1802. "An act establishing the boundary line between the state of Virginia and this commonwealth." Signed by John Adair and John Caldwell and approved by James Garrand and Harry Toulmin. 4 pp. Cy of DS....

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A manuscript speech addressed to "Friends and Fellow Citizens of Williamsburgh" on 4th of July, 1825.

Not clear if city of Williamsburg, Virginia or another city.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Bill of sale for Jene, an enslaved female child, signed by Daniel Hall, Eastern Shore, August 2, 1788; letter of C. Watts, Exeter, England to [?] concerning Rose Johnson who was reportedly living on the Eastern Shore, Virginia, May 29, 1820; letter from Senator John Fitzgerald Kennedy to Frederick Herman thanking him for his favorable review of "Profiles in Courage," February 4, 1956; and letter from John Melville Jennings to Frederick Herman concerning the elusive Rose Johnson, February 21,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Christmas souvenir from the class of Virginia W. Jones of the Nicholson School, Williamsburg, Va.  The souvenir is a printed card tied with a red ribbon and a border of holly.  Includes names of Board, H.D. Cole, A. Brooks, R.L. Spencer; H.N. Phillips, Superintendant. Inside the card are the printed names of the pupils in the sixth and seventh grades.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, February 26, 1937, of James Armstrong to John Crowninshield written from Norfolk, Virginia. The letter mentions a ship, Macedonean, and the Navy Yard. It also refers to U.S. President Andrew Jackson's term in office imminent end and that Martin Van Buren enters office under auspicious circumstances.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Programs for Junior Class of Matthew Whaley School, "Don't Take My Penny," Friday, March 13, [1942], and Annual Installation Banquet of the Young Women's Club of Williamsburg, May 13, 1949.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

March 23, 1822 letter from J.B. Davis of Boston to H.A. S. Dearborn, October 10, 1850 letter from H.A.S. Dearborn to Hon. David A. Linman of Massachusetts, undated letter from John L. Kerr to General Dearborn and an undated invitation written by someone else from General [Richard] Mason to General Dearborn.

Topics are legal matters and personal matters.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, 20 March 1895, of Coleridge to [?] Keeling, asking for help in publicizing his book, "Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge" and a newspaper clipping, 23 February 1920, of the obituary of Coleridge.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Widow's pension, 9 March 1878, from the U.S. Department of the Interior for Lucy A. Randolph, widow of Thomas Mann Randolph, former Captain 2nd Regiment, U.S. Artillery at the rate of $8 per month. ADS.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, 3 November 1953, from Padraic Colum of New York City, to William Seward, Jr., of the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. Colum thanks Seward for the reception in Norfolk and notes that he is sending photographs of himself to Seward.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A.L.S. of Robert Anderson, Williamsburg, Virginia, to Collector of U.S. Customs, Savannah, Georgia, concerning the brig "Helen" formerly owned by Alexander Macaulay of Yorktown in 1798. Dated 20 December 1825. 2 pp.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Broadside bearing course of study, fees, rules and list of board of visitors of the Union Female Seminary in Danville, Virginia. Report card, 1843, of M. L. Thompson.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Collection of letters, October 1968, written to Craig White, a terminally ill patient in the Children's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts by members of the armed forces mostly serving in Vietnam.  Craig White's story was in the Armed Services paper which let people know that he was saving postcards and letters as a hobby while in the hospital.  Many of the letters describe areas in Vietnam where the soldier was stationed and explain their jobs.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary of Dodie Bailey of Bailey's Cross Roads, Virginia, near Falls Church. She began the diary when she was 14 years old and ended it in 1933 when she was 21 years old.

She talks of her social life which includes dates, dances, swimming, movies, drives, church, family events and school - but mostly about boys.

Diary is bound with a clasp, but the pages are loose. Pages appear to be from different diaries. Key to diary is included.

Scope and Contents This description was provided by the seller and has not been verified: " 1928 “January 1st, Left my case at Port on noon train. Dad met. Went up to Agnes in afternoon and stayed all night. Lee home. Had a good time. Peg gave me this diary. Thus into New Year. No wild party.” “January 2nd, Awful cold. Came home in P.M. Lawrence R. here and Gert and her mother. Called on a case @ Coudy Hospital. Mrs. Thornton from Austin, pneumonia. She died 3 A.M. Up all night.” “January 14th, Letter from...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, 21 Feb. 1780, of Edmund Randolph, Williamsburg, Va. to unidentified recipient. Letter concerns a suit to collect the principle and interest of a bond. Also mentions Mr. Hunter, West, Peyton, and [George] Wythe.

Scope and Contents Six letters from Robert F. Fiske to his wife, Deborah Fiske, 1943-1947:Dec. 27, 1943 – His wife wrote him about her day at work. His Captain said he could not live ashore. He is stationed near an island, probably Bermuda since it is near Harrington Sound and Hamilton, which he mentions. Rescued a fishing boat and the owner, Henry Tucker, Sr., “the oldest Tucker on the Island,” has asked him to help an old man and fish with him. His return address is: USN Acti( ) 2 (P), N No...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The letters were written by supply sergeant Harold B. Dennis of the 306th Field artillery to members of his family in September of 1918.The earliest letter is dated September 3, 1918. In this letter he said that he saw the destruction of a French Observation balloon and how the attitude of the French soldiers is "I should worry", that they seemed to not care when the war would end. He also mentioned that he went to a band concert that was broken up due to German planes coming...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Minute book, 1933-1934, 1936-1941 for the Chesterfield County, Virginia 4-H Club. Listed are club officers, club roll, attendance and minutes of monthly meetings. There is also a summary page and a listing of 'general club activities' at the end of the volumes.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Minute book, 1933-1934, 1936-1941 for the Chesterfield County, Virginia 4-H Club. Listed are club officers, club roll, attendance and minutes of monthly meetings. There is also a summary page and a listing of 'general club activities' at the end of the volumes.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection is the estate ledger of Mackie Q. Walke from Ridgewood, New Jersey. This record was prepared and used by the two executors, Walke's daughter ("executrix") Mary A. Walke and son ("executor") Roger S. Walke. The ledger was created from an unused "Rollbook" with lined, unumbered pages. It records the administration of Walke's estate in anticipation of preparing and filing a formal estate inventory and accounting with New Jersey probate officials. It serves as an example...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Three diaries, entirely in Japanese, of a private in the 930th Manchurian Infantry Corps, Mataichi Oonishi. They include description of his participation in the battles Japan fought in China, his life back home in Japan, and his service in the Japanese army in 1941 and 1942 during World War 2.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, 20 December 1805, from Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to James Breckenridge, Botetourt County, Va. Concerns defending Madison against a claim to deprive him of land surveyed near Guyandot Falls by Breckinridge. Asks Breckinridge to discount fee at next College [of William and Mary] settlement. Also concerns Madison's Map of Virginia (1807) and a new method of taking latitudes.