Skip to main content

Box Small Collections Box 14

 Container

Restricted

Contains 108 Results:

Letters, 1861, undated

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of two letters from a Union soldier, signed as "Mac." The first letter is addressed to "Friend Harry" and dated December 12, 1861. Written from Camp Hooker, it details the end of a Rebel blockade after the shelling of a Rebel battery by a Union gunboat. The second letter, which is undated, is incomplete, but provides a detailed description of an unknown combat operation. Mac was possibly a member of the 1st Massachusetts.

Dates: 1861, undated

Letter, 1862 May 3

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter from Franklin Moore to his mother, describes the wound his friend Andrew Read received from an artillery shell. He speaks of a fight at Yorktown being the last one his unit will see.

Dates: 1862 May 3

Letter, 1862 April 10

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter from a 2nd Vermont Regiment soldier [possibly Almond F. Worcester, Jr.] to Joseph Lamb describes the entire Yorktown campaign. He discusses the first encounter with Rebels, the retreat to Newport News, and the seige of Yorktown.

Dates: 1862 April 10

Letter, 1864 October 25

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter from Edward R. Yoder to his cousin E.J. Ransome describing a school in Yorktown, Virginia, where a Northern Quaker, Nancy Battie, and other teachers are educating freedmen. He also tells of an attempt to recruit these freedmen for the army and local home defense unit. He remarks on the raising of a bell, which once belonged to a Yorktown church, in the schoolhouse.

Dates: 1864 October 25

Letter, 1862 April 18

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter written by a Union soldier, Burt H., to "Charles" while at camp near Yorktown, Virginia. He notes that "we have been making a new road so we can take the rebels... they say it is a harder place to take than Richmond," and "there is one hundred and a thousand men with us and McClellan at the head..."

Dates: 1862 April 18

Letter, 1865 May 15

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter from a Maryland-native soldier, Renton, while in Franklin County, North Carolina about going home.

Dates: 1865 May 15

Letter (Photostat) , 1862 April 4

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents

Photostat.

Dates: 1862 April 4

Letters, 1861-1865

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of three letters written at Freeport, Virginia by a woman, "Mother", to Sue and Jimmy, and to an unidentified recipient. The content concerns the home front in Gloucester County, Virginia during the Civil War. Baltimore is mentioned.

Dates: 1861-1865

Letter, 1861 June 20

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains a letter from Brigadier General Henry A. Wise, Lewisberg [sic], Va. [W. Va.], to Adjutant and Inspector General Samuel Cooper, no place. The dispatch is reporting troop strength at Gauley Bridge and reports on guns and ammunition. He writes that the area is unsound. At a place called Williamsburg [W. Va.?], there is "a violent Yankee partisan, a Dr. Thatcher" who shot at his [HAW] orderly, wounding him in the head. Wise asks that three field officers--Col. J. Lucius...
Dates: 1861 June 20

Letter, 1861 December 12

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from Dolly Smart, 16th Virginia, Camp Huger, Norfolk Harbor, Va., to "Cousin Mollie", no place. Dolly is glad to hear she "and the rest" are enjoying good health. He is in winter quarters at last and thinks Mollie's uncle would enjoy spending a week or so there. General William Mahone has stopped all furloughs home and he expects an attack soon. France and England will lift the blockade if "Old Abe" has not whipped us in twenty two days. Several from the artillery companies went...
Dates: Other: 1861 December 12

Letter, 1862 January 23

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from T.W. Harriss, Co. D, 1st Regiment, Tennessee Volunteer, "Col. Mancy Com," Winchester, Va., to "Uncle," no place. Reviews what he has done the past four months. He walked over 1200 miles and lay out in the open air at Bath with the snow six inches deep. He is now partaking of Virginia hospitality to the sick at the cost of $5.00 per week.

Dates: Other: 1862 January 23

Letter, 1862 April 5

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1

Letter, 1862 May 26

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from Henry W. Smart, Richmond, Va., to "Sister," no place. He expresses fear at the approach of the oncoming "Yankees". He writes that Jefferson Davis is determined to defend Richmond to the "last extremity" and comments on the sinking of the Merrimac. He mentions Stonewall Jackson's victory at Winchester, Va., and his opinions of various generals, including "Old P.G.T. Beauregard, who is "too fond of retreating and not fighting". Smart feels that the military tactics used in...
Dates: Other: 1862 May 26

Letters, 1862 August 12-20

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents

Reports that Col. Gabriel C. Wharton's 900 men and two guns surprised the enemy and New River, VA; killed and wounded about 20 of the enemy; then was ordered back from his position.

Desires to make up a corps of sharp shooters, does not want to take men already in organizations; sends $25 to Capt. Vawter for a pistol.

Dates: Other: 1862 August 12-20

Letters, 1862 August-October

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letters from Chief of Staff H. Fitzhugh, located at headquarters in southwestern Virginia and West Virginia, to several Brigadier Generals and Colonels regarding military matters and special orders.

Dates: Other: 1862 August-October

Letter, 1862 September 15

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Jno. A. Hunter, Medical Director, S.W. Va., C.G. Hospital, Charleston, Va. (W. Va.). to Major General William Wing Loring, Charleston, Va. (W. Va.). He reports on the sanitary condition of the army, casualties and wounded from fighting at Fayette Court House, Cotton Hill, Montgomery's, and Charleston and enemy losses at Fayetteville.

Dates: Other: 1862 September 15

Letter, 1862 September 18

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

B.R. Linkous, Lt.(?) Colonel Commanding, 36th Virginia Regiment, Camp near Charleston, W. Va., to Colonel John McCausland, Commanding 4th Brigade. Reports on the 36th Virginia Regiment's march from Camp Dickinson to Charleston.



Dates: Other: 1862 September 18

Letter, 1862 September 18

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from J. Floyd King, Major and Chief of Artillery Corps. Army W. Va., to Capt. Myers, no place. He reports on the Artillery Corps in the battle of Fayetteville and on the march to and the battle at Charleston, W. Va.

Dates: Other: 1862 September 18

Letter, 1862 September 25

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Col. Jno. McCausland, Head Quarters Red House, [W.Va.?], to General [?], no place. He asks consent to move troops to Buffalo, as Albert Gallatin Jenkins ordered. He suggests that Mrs. Shaw be given a pass to travel to Ohio to join her husband.

Dates: Other: 1862 September 25

Letter, 1862 October 2

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Brigadier General Albert Gallatin Jenkins, Head Quarters, Cav. Brigade, Camp Ruffner[?], Putnam Co., Va., [W. Va.], to Lieutenant Colonel H. Fitzhugh, A.A.A. Jenkins reports that the infantry command under Colonel John McCausland is encamped at Red House and his cavalry is two miles below them. There are no new enemy movements to report.

Dates: Other: 1862 October 2

Letter, 1862 October 14

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Brigadier General John Stuart Williams, Head Quarters, 2nd Brigade, Army of Western Va., near Raleigh Court House, [W. Va.], to Captain W. B. Myers, Assistant Adjutant General. He denies abandoning his sick soldiers at Montgomery's Ferry as claimed in the Commanding General's note, nor did he abandon the wounded soldiers at Fayette. He will move camp to Piney this morning and send back wagons for the sick as ordered by the Commanding General.

Dates: Other: 1862 October 14

Letter, 1863 February 3

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from John Daniel Imboden, Sherr Mountain, Head Quarters, N.W. Va. Brigade, to Capt. Joseph F. Harding and other officers, 31st Va. Regt. [Early's Brigade, Army of Northern Virginia, near Fredericksburg, Va.]. Imboden hopes to transfer the 31st Va. regiment to his brigade but is unable to do so until the pressure is off General Lee at Fredericksburg. He heard in Richmond that the friends of former Col. William L. Jackson in the Legislature urge his appointment to command the troops in...
Dates: Other: 1863 February 3

Letter, 1863 March 23

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from Samuel T. [?], Camp Elliott Hill, [Tenn.?], to "My Dear Sister," no place. He is responding to her two letters. He's glad the enemy didn't get as far as their house. He hears the people were treated badly along their route. He mentions "semi skirmishing" with Philip Henry Sheridan and the number of candidates for "even the smallest offices" and tells of 16 deserters in the brigade. He hears that the army has started recruiting "negroes" and fears they will not be "much advantage...
Dates: Other: 1863 March 23

Letter, 1863 March 29

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Harman A. Hiner, camp near Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania County, Va., to Miss Victoria Jane Wilson, Wilsonville, Highland County, Va. He will send her a camp song about a man who came into camp to sell eggs. He talked with some Yankees when he was on picket duty and some said the war would be over in the fall. He relates tales of "warlike" activities in camp. He mentions he and the boys are getting their pictures taken.

Dates: Other: 1863 March 29

Letter, 1863 April 10

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 14, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from J.T. Kerby, V. District, Eastern Prison, Cell No. 3, to Brigadier General John Henry Winder, Commanding Department, Henrico. He hears that a committee of the House of Representatives is about to look into the prison. He writes to an officer who "entertains a strong prejudice" against him to tell of the unjust and inhumane punishments inflicted upon Southern soldiers there. He desires an interview with Winder or his adjutant Capt. Pegram.

Dates: Other: 1863 April 10