Skip to main content

Dolly Smart Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00281

Scope and Contents

Letter from Dolly Smart, 16th Virginia, Camp Huger, Norfolk Harbor, Va., to "Cousin Mollie", no place. Dolly is glad to hear she "and the rest" are enjoying good health. He is in winter quarters at last and thinks Mollie's uncle would enjoy spending a week or so there. General William Mahone has stopped all furloughs home and he expects an attack soon. France and England will lift the blockade if "Old Abe" has not whipped us in twenty two days. Several from the artillery companies went down to Ocean View to see a stranded ship which got off. Some "swell-head Ladies" visited the camp and the Colonel ordered a dress parade. Mr. Henry Barrett of the Fleets Rifle Guard got married last week. All the men in the mess are non-commissioned officers who "try their best to get something out of us but they can't do it everytime". His first experience in cooking was making "bisquets which were first rate."

Dates

  • 1861 December 12

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Custodial History

The Dolly Smart Letter was part of the Civil War Collection, Mss. 39.1 C76, until November 2017. The former citation was Civil War Collection, Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Creator

Author
Karen King, SCRC Staff
Date
October 2017
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: