World War II African American Soldiers photographs
-
No requestable containers
Content Description
This collection contains photographs taken by an unidentified African American soldier during World War II. The collection features photographs of soldiers training in the United States and deployed overseas in France and Belgium. Photographs including women and children are also featured in the collection.
Dates
- Creation: 1945-1946
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical / Historical
This collection of photographs was taken by an unidentified African American soldier who trained at Camp Lee, Virginia. Although established during World War I as a training site, by World War II Camp Lee grew to provide training for quatermasters and other specialists. By 1941, the first Black training unit was established at Camp Lee. During World War II, most African American soldiers were assigned to segregated quatermaster and engineer units which provided technological and material support to combat divisions. Soldiers photographed in this collection are depicted in France and Belgium.
Extent
1.17 Linear Feet (1 binder)
Language
English
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Purchased with the Nelle Richardson Tonkin Fund.
Topical
Uniform Title
- Title
- Guide to World War II African American Soldiers photographs
- Status
- Completed
- Author
- Kendall McKinley
- Date
- 2023 February
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository