Skip to main content

Caspar M. McElfresh correspondence

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01818

  • Staff Only

Content Description

The collection contains one letter from Caspar M. McElfresh's located in Williamsburg, Virginia at William & Mary, to his sister, Ariana McElfresh in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The letter contains McElfresh’s opinions and experiences during his first year at William & Mary. He likes his fellow students, his professors and how they teach their classes. He also discusses his hopes to have his two rifles at a later date.

Dates

  • Creation: 1850 October 15

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

.1 Linear Feet (One legal size folder.)

Language

English

Arrangement

The collection is arranged into one series: Series I. Correspondence.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was donated by Barranger & Company, Inc.

Title
Guide to Caspar M. McElfresh correspondence
Status
Completed
Author
Anne T. Johnson
Date
2023 January
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: