Skip to main content

Page Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 P14

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Correspondence (11 letters) of members of the John Page (1744-1808) family of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. regarding local, national, and international politics, the American Revolution, family news (Lowther and Page families), the semaphore, and fashion. Correspondents include Mann Page, Jr., Margaret (Lowther) Page, John Page, St. George Tucker, Stevens Thomson Mason, David Meade Randolph, Henry Tazewell, Philip (Filippo) Mazzei and George Weedon. Subjects also include John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Burgoyne, Viscount Howe, George and Martha Washington, Alexander Hamilton and Edmund Pendleton.

Dates

  • Creation: 1777-1822

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

The course work material in this collection contains grade reports which were restricted until May 2014. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical / Historical

John Page (April 17, 1744 - October 11, 1808) was a figure in early United States history. He served in the U.S. Congress and as Governor of Virginia.

Page was born and lived at Rosewell Plantation in Gloucester County. His great grandfather was Colonel John Page (1628-1692), an English merchant from Middlesex who emigrated to Virginia with his wife Alice Lucken Page and settled in Middle Plantation. He was the brother of Mann Page III.

John Page was graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1763, where he was a friend and the closest college classmate of Thomas Jefferson, having exchanged a great deal of correspondence. He then served under George Washington in an expedition during the French and Indian War. He was a delegate to the state constitutional convention in 1776. He also served during the American Revolutionary War as an officer in the Virginia state militia, raising a regiment from Gloucester County and supplementing it with personal funds. During that war, he attained the rank of colonel.

Page was also involved in politics. He became the Lieutenant Governor of Virginia and served 1776-1779. He was then a member of the Virginia House of Delegates 1781-1783 and 1785-1788. Page was elected to the First United States Congress and reelected to the Second and Third, and to the Fourth as a Republican. Overall, he was Congressman from March 4, 1789 to March 3, 1797.

After his terms in Congress, he was again a member of the Virginia House of Delegates in 1797, 1798, 1800, and 1801. He became the Governor of Virginia in 1802 and served to 1805. After being governor, he was appointed United States commissioner of loans for Virginia and held office until his death in Richmond, Virginia on October 11, 1808.

He was interred in St. John's Churchyard in Richmond.

Extent

0.3 Linear Feet

Language

English

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Sotheby's Auction

Acquisition Method:

Purchase, Mss. Acc. 1993.40, 1 item.

Purchase, Mss. Acc. 1994.37 (Mss94 P14), 7 items.

Purchase, Mss. Acc. 1999.10, 1 item.

Purchase, Mss. Acc. 2000.21, 1 item

Purchase, Mss. Acc. 2001.06B, 1 item

Related Materials

See also; Mss. Sm Coll Page: John Page Letter to James Madison; Msv Me4: John Page Memorandum book, 1762-1797, 39.2 V81go Virginia Governor's Papers, Mss. 1996.56 Kentucky-Virginia Boundary Settlement Collection and the John Page Poem "What Muse Can Dictate", all at Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Processing Information

Processing Information: Processed by Ellen Strong in 1995 and 2003.

Finding Aid Revision History: Anne Johnson in 2009 and updated in 2011.

Other Note: A PDF document of this inventory is available for Mss. 94 P14 and 1999.10.

Title
Guide to the Page Family Papers
Author
SCRC Staff
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: