Student Assembly Records
Scope and Contents
The Student Assembly Records span the years 1926 to 2018, with the bulk of the material dating from 1960 to 2018. The collection includes agendas and minutes, constitutions and by-laws, bills, administrative and committee files, clippings, photographs, budget and financial reports, press releases, and correspondence. The Student Assembly Records also contain papers from various deans of student affairs as well as deans of the faculty of arts and sciences. Agendas and Minutes from the Student Activities Council, the Student Association Council, the Executive Council, the Senate, Interhall, and the Board of Student Affairs are also present in the collection. Topics represented in the collection include student life and activities, affirmative action, enrollment, and college government.
This collection contains digital materials. At least 72 hours advanced notice required for access of digital materials.
- Creation: 1940-2018
- Creation: Majority of material found within 1960-2018
- College of William and Mary. Student Assembly (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Student Association (Organization)
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
The Student Assembly is the student's government at the College of William and Mary. Including both graduates and undergraduates, it represents the students' voice to the faculty, administration, community and state. It also provides services to the college community, acting as the sponsor and coordinator for several student activities and projects both on and off campus. The Student Assembly consists of different branches, including the Executive Council which is divided into seven departments, the Review Board, the Senate, and the Elections Commission. These branches assist the student in both their academic endeavors and in pursuing wider campus and community relations.
Additional information about the current Student Assembly is available at http://sa.wm.edu/
14.50 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
This collection is arranged into the following series: Agenda and Minutes; Constitutions, By-laws, Resolutions, and Membership; Administrative Papers; Committees, Councils, Associations, and Organizations; Reports; Correspondence; Budget and Finances Information; Student Life Policies and Activities; and Press Releases and Controversial Issues.
Accruals starting in 2019 arranged in series by academic year (August-May) to retain original order from donor and to accommodate their born digital nature. Some material may be in earlier series.
Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements
Born digital material are restricted to reading room access only. At least 72 hours advanced notice required for access.
Some bills saved as Microsoft Word documents have become corrupted, but the original text of the bill is readable so the documents have been retained.
Acc. 1983.096 received from Gabriel Wilner 05/22/1959. Acc. 2005.004 received from James Evans 07/07/2005. A portion of this collection was also formerly part of the University Archives Publications Collection and was received from various sources over the years. Acc. 2018.169 received from Jack Bowden 7/7/2018 via Google Drive download. Acc. 2019.005 received from Jack Bowden 1/28/2019 via Google Drive download. Acc. 2019.078 received from Jack Bowden 4/1/2019 via Google Drive download. Acc. 2019.108 received from Patrick Salsburg 4/24/2019 via Google Drive download.
A portion of this collection was also formerly part of the University Archives Publications Collection and as it was received from various sources over the years was organized alphabetically by folder title. The collection was arranged and described by Katie Ross, graduate student, from October-December 2007 with final arrangement by Steve Bookman, Special Collections Staff. Rebecca Obniski completed the labeling of folders and entered the box and folder list into Archon in January-February 2008.
Veronica Parker added a one folder addition in November 2022.
Genre / Form
- Buildings and Grounds
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century
- College of William and Mary--Students
- Student Government
- Student Life--1920s
- Student Life--1930's
- Student Life--1940's
- Student Life--1950's
- Student Life--1960's
- Student Life--1970's
- Student Life--1980's
- Student Life--2000's
- Walter J. Zable Stadium
- Guide to the Student Assembly Records
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff, Gina Woodward, Katie Ross.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English.