Skip to main content

Puerto Rico Slave Documents

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01347

  • Staff Only

Content Description

Three slave registries from Puerto Rico written in Spanish dated 1868, 1869, and 1871. The names of the enslaved individuals is not known, but a full description of each, including race and age as well as who they belonged to is on the documents.

Dates

  • Creation: 1868-1871

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Feet

Language

Spanish; Castilian

Title
Guide to Puerto Rico Slave Documents
Author
Christina R. Luers
Date
2018-04-03
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: