Skip to main content

May Funeral Home Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.263

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Records, 1934-1939, 1944 of the May Funeral Home of Taylor, Williamson County, Texas. The business was owned by Mrs. M.C. May. The May Funeral Home serviced the African-American community.

Included are a daybook and loose items. Recorded in the daybook are name, birth and death date, occupation, address, religious affiliation and details and costs of the funeral services. And alphabetical index can be found in front of the volume. The loose items consist of receipts, death certificates, correspondence, and financial records.

Dates

  • 1934-1939, 1944
  • Majority of material found in 1934-1939

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Historical Note:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.10 Linear Feet

Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:

Several pages are damaged in the upper left corner.

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and processed in June 2009 by Ute Schechter.

Title
Guide to the May Funeral Home Records
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Ute Schechter.
Date
2011-03-30
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: