Skip to main content

Account Ledger and Diary (Upstate New York)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01038
One bound volume that includes both an account ledger and a diary from a family in Upstate New York. The first part of the volume provides handwritten accounts for what appears to be a general store, while the rest of the volume contains a diary of daily life written by more than one person, maybe a family. The name Patterson seems to be featured in a lot of the diary entries and accounts. Some of the topics discussed in the diary section include trips taken, personal health, married life, visits by friends and other topics of daily life. The first quarter and the last few pages of the volume are dedicated to the accounts and diary, while the rest of the pages are blank.

Dates

  • 1886-1907
  • Majority of material found in 1890-1900

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Arrangement of Materials:

This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.

Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:

The fragile nature of this material may limit handling.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2011.605 was received by the SCRC via USPS on 9/29/2011.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in October 2011.
Title
Guide to the Account Ledger and Diary (Upstate New York)
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2011-10-06
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: