Robert Edward Lee Watkins Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection includes items related to the Phoenix and Philomathean Literary Societies, debates Watkins participated in, class notes, artifacts, a certificate, and a letter written to his mother while he was stationed in Cuba during the Spanish American War.
Dates
- Creation: 1889-1891
Creator
- Watkins, Robert Edward Lee (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical / Historical
Robert Edward Lee Watkins was born in Southampton County, Va. on December 27, 1868 to D. J. and Rebecca Moore Watkins. He graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1891 and studied law at the University of North Carolina. He served during the Spanish-American War as Second Lieutenant in Company I of the Fourth Virginia Regiment, retiring as Major on the staff of the Judge Advocate General. He served as mayor of the town of Franklin, Va. from 1900-1906 and served on the Town Council for a number of years. He was elected Commonwealth's Attorney of Southampton County in 1914 and held that office for nearly 20 years. He died on August 5, 1935.
Extent
0.70 Linear Feet
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Acc. 1979.026
Accruals
2016.029 was a gift from Emma Lovelace
Processing Information
Processed by Kim Sims, February 2016
Subject
- College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Philomathean Literary Society (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Phoenix Literary Society (Organization)
- Title
- Guide to the Robert Edward Lee Watkins Papers
- Status
- Completed
- Author
- SCRC staff
- Date
- 2007-08-01
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository