Skip to main content

J. Paul Essex Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.020

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

This scrapbook holds photographs of the College of William and Mary.  Included are images of several buildings, such as (but not limited to) the old gymnasium (demolished in 1931), several dormitories for both women and men, the dining hall, and Lake Matoaka.  There is also a photograph of the 1923 women's basketball team and individual shots of each player.

The scrapbook also includes images of President Warren G. Harding's visit to campus in 1921.

Additionally, there are photographs of the local Williamsburg area, including Eastern State Hospital (identified as the Asylum), Bruton Parish Church, and parts of today's Colonial Williamsburg, such as the Wythe House and the Magazine.

Dates

  • Creation: 1921-1923

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

This collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:

The scrapbook has been unbound.

Acquisition Information:

This scrapbook was acquired before 2016.

Processing Information:

Machine-readable finding aid derived from MS Word, created by Kristen Proehl. Updated by Kim Sims, June 2016.

Related Name

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the J. Paul Essex Scrapbook, 1921-1923
Date
2007-05-23
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: