Skip to main content

Fred Pernert Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.162

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of letters written by Fred Pernert of the U.S. Army to his girlfriend and family while stationed in Vietnam during the Vietnam War.  Letters discuss his job, the activity within his Division, a USO performance, Viet Cong attacks, deaths of friends and his friendship with a local Vietnamese family. Letters also show his growing feelings for his girlfriend, Connie Sleamon. A photograph album includes pictures of his buddies and shows the activities around his camp, which is a MARS station (Military Affiliate Radio System). The collection also includes a box of 20 insignia pins, 9 uniform stripes and badges, 3 slides, 1 signal mirror in a canvas sleeve, 1 cardboard box with description “dyed canvas case maintenance equipment M16A1 rifle.”  These artifacts are stored separately.

In one letter, he states that he is part of Americal Div, which includes 11th armored cav, 101st airborne, 11th army, 2nd Army and 196th  plus INFBDE which includes HHC, 431, 1st 14, 156th sig, 2nd of the 1st and F troop.

Dates

  • 1967-1968

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Administrative History:

Fred Pernert was in the U.S. Army during the Vietnam War.  He lived in Holt, Michigan.  His first name might be Maurice.

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Processing Information:

Collection was processed by Anne T. Johnson.

Creator

Title
Guide to the Fred Pernert Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson.
Date
2009-03-05
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: