Skip to main content

Evelyn V. Palmer Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.123

Scope and Contents

Consists of one letter to College of William and Mary student Evelyn V. Palmer from her mother, who indicates she will travel to Williamsburg to sell goods in an effort to raise the funds her daughter requested. Mrs. Palmer also shares an update of events at the Palmer home in Suffolk, Virginia.

Dates

  • 1919 March 11

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Administrative History:

Palmer was a member of the class of 1920 (according to the 1932 Catalogue of Alumni) and was part of the first class of women to enroll in 1918. She lived on-campus in the Tyler Dormitory, which was designated for women.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2010.028 was received on 1/22/2010.

Related Materials:

Martha Barksdale Papers (UA 6.004); University Archives Oral History Collection (UA 43) under Kimbrough, Janet; Mildred Barksdale (UA 5.060); Catherine Dennis Papers (UA 5.004); Scrapbook on Campus Life, 1915-1920 (UA 78).

Information about related materials is available at http://scdbwiki.swem.wm.edu/wiki/index.php/Women_at_the_College_of_William_and_Mary

Processing Information:

Accessioned by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in January 2010.
Title
Guide to the Evelyn V. Palmer Letter
Date
2010-01-25
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: