Skip to main content

Wedgewood Playhouse Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.056

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Contains photographs, programs, scrapbooks, and other material concerning the Wedgewood Playhouse based in Toano, Virginia, located just west of Williamsburg, Virginia. Included in the records are negative and print photographs of various productions at the theater from 1963-1969; programs from productions in the 1960s; a scrapbook of clippings, photographs, and letters from the theater's 1963-1964 season; and ledger books containing the financial records of the theater from 1965-1971. More information about the history of the Wedgewood Playhouse can be found in Box 1 of the collection.

Dates

  • Creation: 1962-1971, 1999
  • Creation: Majority of material found within 1963-1971

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access

The ledger books are restricted until 1/1/2047. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical / Historical

The Wedgewood Playhouse was a dinner theatre located in Toano, Virginia where customers would be treated to a meal and a performance of a play. The theatre was created in 1963 and held productions until 1973.

Extent

5.00 Linear Feet

Additional Description

Arrangement

This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Acc. 2013.056 was picked up by Special Collections staff from the donor on 3/14/2013.

Processing Information

Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in March 2013.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Wedgewood Playhouse Records
Status
Completed
Author
Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist
Date
2013-03-26
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: