"Treasures of the Vatican Library: And to Every Beast…" Bound Volume, 1989
Scope and Contents
Bound volume titled "Treasures of the Vatican Library: And to Every Beast…" containing book illustrations from the collections of the Vatican Library. Most of the creatures are mythical, including a griffin, the College of William and Mary mascot. The book is inscribed "To the William and Mary Griffin, 2011-06, LBW." Also included is a letter to the griffin mascot hoping he would enjoy reading the book while in Swem Library. Acc. 2011.429
Dates
- Creation: 1989
Creator
- From the Collection: Belk, George Washington, III (Person)
- From the Collection: Bolling, Maurice Landon (Person)
- From the Collection: Catron, Louis E. (Person)
- From the Collection: Childress, Cecil Marcia (Person)
- From the Collection: College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee (Organization)
- From the Collection: Croghan, John, 1790-1849 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 (Person)
- From the Collection: Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 (Person)
- From the Collection: Griffin, James Lewis Corbin, 1814-1878 (Person)
- From the Collection: Hackley, William Randolph (Person)
- From the Collection: Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Jones, Warner Throckmorton (Person)
- From the Collection: Key, Francis Scott, 1779-1843 (Person)
- From the Collection: Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 (Person)
- From the Collection: Maddox, William Arthur (Person)
- From the Collection: Mercer, Hugh T.W. (Person)
- From the Collection: Millington, John, 1779-1868 (Person)
- From the Collection: Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 (Person)
- From the Collection: Preston, William (Person)
- From the Collection: Rogers, William Barton, 1804-1882 (Person)
- From the Collection: Ryland, Archie Garnett (Person)
- From the Collection: Scarburgh, George Parker (Person)
- From the Collection: Smith, John Augustine, 1782-1865 (Person)
- From the Collection: Society of the Alumni (Organization)
- From the Collection: Taliaferro, Edwin, 1835-1867 (Person)
- From the Collection: Taliaferro, William Booth (Person)
- From the Collection: Taliaferro, William R., Jr. (Person)
- From the Collection: Taylor, John Herbert (Person)
- From the Collection: Taylor, Waller (Person)
- From the Collection: Topping, Katheryn M. (Person)
- From the Collection: Warren, William H. (Person)
- From the Collection: William and Mary Quarterly (Organization)
- From the Collection: Wise, George Douglas (Person)
- From the Collection: Wright, Ernest L. (Person)
Language of Materials
English French
Conditions Governing Access:
This collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 8.40 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository